Author Information
Betty Neels
  • Bibliography:
    135 Books (14 Series)
  • First Book:
    January 1970
  • Latest Book:
    July 2003
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Evelyn Jessy Neels was born on 15 September 1910 in Devon, England, UK. She became a nurse, and in 1939 was called up to the Territorial Army Nursing Service, where she met her Dutch husband during World War II. They had a daughter. After living in Holland for 13 years, they returned to England where she continued her nursing career.

After she retired from nursing, she began writing, publishing her first romance in 1969. She was quite prolific and wrote 134 books. Her gentle novels of doctor nurse romances, are usually featured Dutch doctors as the heroes. Betty pased away peacefully in hospital on 7 June 2001, aged 91. Her career with Mills & Boon (reprinted by Harlequin) spanned 30 years, and she continued to write into her 90th year. To her millions of fans around the world, Betty Neels epitomized romance. She will be missed.

Full Series List in Order


1 - Sister Peters in Amsterdam (Jan-1970)
2 - Surgeon from Holland // Blow Hot, Blow Cold // Visiting Consultant (Jul-1970)

Apple / Time

1 - An Apple from Eve (Mar-1982)
2 - Never the Time and the Place (Mar-1986)


1 - The Little Dragon (Apr-1978)
2 - The Fateful Bargain (Dec-1989)


1 - Tangled Autumn (Mar-1972)
2 - Enchanting Samantha (May-1974)

Dr Fforde

1 - The Doctor's Girl // Marrying a Doctor (Oct-2001)
2 - Always and Forever (Nov-2001)

Final Touch

1 - The Final Touch (May-1992)
2 - A Happy Meeting (Jun-1993)
3 - Dearest Love (Apr-1995)


1 - Nurse Harriet Goes to Holland // Tempestuous April (Nov-1970)
2 - A Matter of Chance (Aug-1977)


1 - Cruise to a Wedding (Mar-1975)
2 - Esmeralda (Oct-1976)


1 - Wedding Bells for Beatrice (Aug-1995)
2 - The Vicar's Daughter (Nov-1998)

Heidelberg / Vienna

1 - Heidelberg Wedding (Mar-1985)
2 - Magic in Vienna (Jan-1986)


1 - Fate Is Remarkable (Jun-1971)
2 - Uncertain Summer (Aug-1974)
3 - The End of the Rainbow (Jun-1975)

Related - 2

1 - Not Once But Twice (Nov-1981)
2 - A Girl Named Rose (Sep-1986)
3 - The Doubtful Marriage (Feb-1988)

St Ethelburga / St Athel’s

1 - Nurse in Holland // Amazon in an Apron // A Match for Sister Maggy (Apr-1970)
2 - Damsel in Green (Feb-1971)
3 - A Small Slice of Summer (Jun-1977)


1 - The Secret Pool (Mar-1987)
2 - No Need to Say Goodbye (Feb-1990)
3 - The Girl With Green Eyes (Feb-1991)

Multi-Author Series List

2000 Launch

The Daughter of the Manor (Jan-2000)

Baby Boom

The Right Kind of Girl (Aug-1997)

Family Ties

A Christmas Wish (Dec-1995)

First Class

Roses Have Thorns (Sep-1991)

Holding Out for a Hero

7 - The Bachelor's Wedding (Jul-1996)

Kids & Kisses

A Valentine for Daisy (Feb-1995)

Sealed with a Kiss

Dearest Love (Apr-1995)

White Wedding

Emma's Wedding (May-2002)

White Weddings

An Innocent Bride (Nov-1999)
Matilda's Wedding (Apr-2000)

Book List in Order: 135 titles

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Betty Neels has published 135 books.

Betty Neels does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, A Good Wife, was published in July 2003.

The first book by Betty Neels, Sister Peters in Amsterdam, was published in January 1970.

Yes. Betty Neels has 14 series.