Outlander // Cross Stitch
  • Length:
    13 Books
  • First Book:
    June 1991
  • Latest Book:
    August 2022
  • Genres:
    Historical Romance
  • Rating:
  • Description:
    Since Outlander's publication in 1991, readers can't seem to get enough of the time-traveling Claire Randall and her Scottish husband, Jamie Fraser. The books have topped many favorite romance novels of all-time lists and have since been turned into a popular TV series for the Starz network. The series follows the exploits of Claire, Jamie and their friends and relatives from eighteenth-century Scotland to Colonial America and the American Revolution. This genre-bending series can be classified as historical fiction, time-travel, romance, suspense -- the books have it all.

    While the first couple of books focus on Claire and Jamie, later books add a wider cast of characters including their daughter, Brianna, and her husband, Roger. The Outlander universe also contains a series of mysteries featuring Lord John Grey, a character first introduced as a prison warden in Dragonfly in Amber.

Outlander Series in Order (13 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4.5
2 4.5
3 4.5
3.5 4.5
4 5
4.5 4
5 5
6 5
7 5

8 5
8.5 4
9 5
9.5 (e) 5

Book Descriptions for series: Outlander

  • Book - 1

    In 1945, Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon -- when she innocently touches a boulder in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassen...

  • Book - 2

    From the author of Outlander... a magnificent epic that once again sweeps us back in time to the drama and passion of 18th-century Scotland... For twenty years Claire Randall has kept her secrets. But now she is returning with her grown daughter t...

  • Book - 3

    Twentieth-century time traveler Claire Randall faces a possibility both fearsome and exhilarating. Having returned to her own time, pregnant and brutalized by her trip through the standing stones, she makes a new life for herself, training to become ...

  • Book - 3.5

    London, 1760. For Jamie Fraser, paroled prisoner-ofwar in the remote Lake District, life could be worse: He's not cutting sugar cane in the West Indies, and he's close enough to the son he cannot claim as his own. But Jamie Fraser's quiet existence i...

  • Book - 4

    It began in Scotland, at an ancient stone circle. There, a doorway, open to a select few, leads into the past -- or to the grave. Claire Randall survived the extraordinary passage, not once but twice. Her first trip swept her into the arms of Jamie F...

  • Book - 4.5

    New York Times bestselling author Diana Gabaldon has captured the hearts of millions with her critically acclaimed novels, Outlander. Dragonfly In Amber, Voyager, and Drums Of Autumn. From the moment Claire Randall accidentally steps through a magica...

  • Book - 5

    The year is 1771, and war is coming. Jamie Fraser's wife tells him so. Little as he wishes to, he must believe it, for hers is a gift of dreadful prophecy -- a time-traveler's certain knowledge. Born in the year of Our Lord 1918, Claire Randall s...

  • Book - 6

    It is 1772, the eve of the American Revolution, and the long fuse of rebellion has already been lit. Governor Josiah Martin calls upon Jamie Fraser to unite the backcountry and safeguard the colony for King and Crown. But there is one problem: Jamie ...

  • Book - 7

    In this new epic of imagination, time travel, and adventure, Diana Gabaldon continues the riveting story begun in Outlander. Jamie Fraser is an eighteenth-century Highlander, an ex-Jacobite traitor, and a reluctant rebel in the American Revolution. ...

  • Book - 8

    In her now classic novel Outlander, Diana Gabaldon told the story of Claire Randall, an English ex-combat nurse who walks through a stone circle in the Scottish Highlands in 1946, and disappears . . . into 1743. The story unfolded from there in seven...

  • Book - 8.5

    More than a decade ago, #1 New York Times bestselling author Diana Gabaldon delighted her legions of fans with The Outlandish Companion, an indispensable guide to all the Outlander books at the time. But that edition was just a taste of things to com...

  • Book - 9

    The past may seem the safest place to be . . . but it is the most dangerous time to be alive. . . . Jamie Fraser and Claire Randall were torn apart by the Jacobite Rising in 1746, and it took them twenty years to find each other again. Now the Am...

  • Book - 9.5

    The #1 New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed Outlander series weaves a captivating story of secrets and intrigue, bringing together Lord John’s elder brother, Harold Grey, and his future wife, Minnie. This novella, originally published...


A Breath of Snow and Ashes
2005 All About Romance Reader Award -- Best American Historical
2005 All About Romance Reader Award -- Most-Hanky Read
2006 Audies -- Solo Narration-Female
2006 Quill Award -- Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror
Drums of Autumn
1997 All About Romance Reader Award -- Best Other Romance
An Echo in the Bone
2009 Goodreads Choice Award -- Romance
The Fiery Cross
2001 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- Historical Novel
Outlander // Cross Stitch
1991 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- New Age Novel
1992 Rita Award -- Best Romance
1995 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best Romance of All Time
1996 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best All-Time Historical Romance
1997 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best Romance of All Time
2000 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best Romance of All Time
2001 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best Romance of All Time
2002 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best All-Time Paranormal Romance
2003 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best All-Time Paranormal Romance
The Scottish Prisoner
2011 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- Historical Fiction
1994 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best Time Travel Romance
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
2014 Goodreads Choice Award -- Romance
2014 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- Historical Fiction

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 13 books in the Outlander series.

The Outlander series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, A Fugitive Green (Book 9.5), was published in August 2022.

The first book in the Outlander series, Outlander // Cross Stitch, was published in June 1991.

The Outlander series primarily falls into the Historical Romance genre.
No ads, please
$20 / year
  • Go ad-free with a FictionDB premium membership.