Author Information
Jennie Tremaine's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    12 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    January 1979
  • Latest Book:
    January 1986
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Marion Chesney was born on 1936 in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, and started her first job as a bookseller in charge of the fiction department in John Smith & Sons Ltd. While bookselling, by chance, she got an offer from the Scottish Daily Mail to review variety shows and quickly rose to be their theatre critic. She left Smith’s to join Scottish Field magazine as a secretary in the advertising department, without any shorthand or typing, but quickly got the job of fashion editor instead. She then moved to the Scottish Daily Express where she reported mostly on crime. This was followed by a move to Fleet Street to the Daily Express where she became chief woman reporter. After marrying Harry Scott Gibbons and having a son, Charles, Marion went to the United States where Harry had been offered the job of editor of the Oyster Bay Guardian. When that didn’t work out, they went to Virginia and Marion worked as a waitress in a greasy spoon on the Jefferson Davies in Alexandria while Harry washed the dishes. Both then got jobs on Rupert Murdoch’s new tabloid, The Star, and moved to New York.

Anxious to spend more time at home with her small son, Marion, urged by her husband, started to write historical romances in 1977. After she had written over 100 of them under her maiden name, Marion Chesney, and under the pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester, she getting fed up with 1714 to 1910, she began to write detectives stories in 1985 under the pseudonym of M. C. Beaton. On a trip from the States to Sutherland on holiday, a course at a fishing school inspired the first Constable Hamish Macbeth story. They returned to Britain and bought a croft house and croft in Sutherland where Harry reared a flock of black sheep. But Charles was at school, in London so when he finished and both tired of the long commute to the north of Scotland, they moved to the Cotswolds where Agatha Raisin was created.

Full Series List in Order

The Daring Debutantes

2 - Molly (Jul-1980)
4 - Lucy (Apr-1980)
6 - Kitty (Oct-1979)
7 - Sally (Jul-1982)

Ladies in Love

1 - Polly (May-1980)
2 - Daisy (Dec-1979)
3 - Ginny (Aug-1980)
4 - Tilly (Jan-1981)
5 - Susie (Oct-1981)
6 - Poppy (Jan-1979)
7 - Maggie (Nov-1984)

Book List in Order: 12 titles

  • She was the flower of Bermondsey, an East End slum, who rose to become a star. But Poppy Duveen quit the stage to marry Freddie Plummett, the only "gentleman" she had ever known--the bounder who died, leaving her in the castle and clutches of his for...

  • In a brilliant social season, Edwardian London's dizzying whirl had its share of surprises. The latest was Kitty Harrison, once achingly poor, suddenly an heiress--and now, thanks to her determined mother, about to become a Baroness. From the mome...

  • Daisy Jenkins never expected to be anything more than a trespasser on the idyllic lawns of Marsden Castle. Then, suddenly, she was admitted into the magic circle of the Earl and Countess of Nottenstone, to await the arrival of the notorious Lord Chat...

  • She was a lady's maid who longed to be a lady. How else could Lucy Balfour hope to win the favor of Andrew, Viscount Harvey, the toast of the town, who seemed ready to take a bride at last? There was only one way to command his attention, and it ...

  • She was a bewitching minx, that pretty Polly Marsh, and she knew it. She also knew that beauty could be her passport into the castles where she had always known she belonged. So she set her cap for a duke and joined the firm of Westerman's as a steno...

  • She was a cheeky American upstart who thought that beauty, brains, and bravery were enough to conquer London Society. Well, They'd show her! Nobody-but nobody spurned Lord David Manley, the most eligible bachelor in society. Soon she'd be tre...

  • Poor Ginny Bloggs! She had inherited a fortune, a magnificent country estate, and her benefactor's disgruntled relatives--a quartet of querulous schemers--who were horrified to find themselves suddenly at the mercy of a low, common girl, a total ...

  • The Beast. That was what they called her. With her plump body and rough tomboy ways, she was more like a clown. It was hopeless. Poor, penniless Tilly could only sit among the chaperons as paid companion to the spiteful Lady Aileen and dream. But...

  • Poor little Susie Burke. A beautiful dreamer, she imagined herself happy in a rose-covered cottage, only to find herself mistress of a great damp castle and wife to the elderly Earl of Blackball. Luck, not the lecherous earl, contrived to spare he...

  • She was an honored guest in a palatial country home. "Aunt Mabel," lovelorn columnist of Home Chats magazine, had been summoned to prevent the Duchess of Dartware's son, Paul, from a marriage worse than death. Who would have guessed t...

  • Maggie Macleod was weary of life with a soul sickness that ate into every fiber of her being. In a mad way, it did not seem strange to her that she should be on the way to High Court to stand trial for the murder of her husband. Her marriage seemed t...

  • She had a long way to go from the wedding to become a wife. "SOMEHOW I WILL MARRY BEFORE MARIGOLD--ANYONE WHO WILL HAVE ME" When Lady Anne Sinclair vowed to marry before her spoilt beauty of a sister, she had no idea the "anyone"...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Jennie Tremaine has published 12 books.

Jennie Tremaine does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Lady Anne's Deception, was published in January 1986.

The first book by Jennie Tremaine, Poppy, was published in January 1979.

Yes. Jennie Tremaine has 2 series.