Author Information
Ann Fairfax's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    4 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1979
  • Latest Book:
    January 1982
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Marion Chesney was born on 1936 in Glasgow, Scotland, UK, and started her first job as a bookseller in charge of the fiction department in John Smith & Sons Ltd. While bookselling, by chance, she got an offer from the Scottish Daily Mail to review variety shows and quickly rose to be their theatre critic. She left Smith’s to join Scottish Field magazine as a secretary in the advertising department, without any shorthand or typing, but quickly got the job of fashion editor instead. She then moved to the Scottish Daily Express where she reported mostly on crime. This was followed by a move to Fleet Street to the Daily Express where she became chief woman reporter. After marrying Harry Scott Gibbons and having a son, Charles, Marion went to the United States where Harry had been offered the job of editor of the Oyster Bay Guardian. When that didn’t work out, they went to Virginia and Marion worked as a waitress in a greasy spoon on the Jefferson Davies in Alexandria while Harry washed the dishes. Both then got jobs on Rupert Murdoch’s new tabloid, The Star, and moved to New York.

Anxious to spend more time at home with her small son, Marion, urged by her husband, started to write historical romances in 1977. After she had written over 100 of them under her maiden name, Marion Chesney, and under the pseudonyms: Ann Fairfax, Jennie Tremaine, Helen Crampton, Charlotte Ward, and Sarah Chester, she getting fed up with 1714 to 1910, she began to write detectives stories in 1985 under the pseudonym of M. C. Beaton. On a trip from the States to Sutherland on holiday, a course at a fishing school inspired the first Constable Hamish Macbeth story. They returned to Britain and bought a croft house and croft in Sutherland where Harry reared a flock of black sheep. But Charles was at school, in London so when he finished and both tired of the long commute to the north of Scotland, they moved to the Cotswolds where Agatha Raisin was created.

Book List in Order: 4 titles

    • / Traditional Regency
    • Buy Buy

    Handsome, dashing Henry Wright, the Duke of Westerland, needed a wife in a desperately short period of time. If he could not find a wife, he would lose the legacy he so desperately desired. Young, lovely but sheltered Miss Frederica Sayers needed ...

  • GROOMING THE GROOM In Nethercote, it was universally agreed that Henrietta, the Vicar's sister, was a hopeless spinster. Yet no one could deny that she possessed a magnificent pair of hazel eyes -- and a high-stepping spirit. So when Aunt H...

  • LURING HIS LORDSHIP... It's a maiden's miracle! Annabelle Quennell, daughter of a poor country parson, gets a chance at a London Season to snare a well-to-do husband. But before she sets off, Mad Meg the Gypsy predicts woes ahead! And ...

  • PASSION IN PERIL Penelope has stolen the heart of the fabulous Earl of Hestleton -- rich beyond words, handsome beyond compare, the most eligible lord in the realm -- who thought he could toy with the pretty country miss, bring her out at Almack&#...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Ann Fairfax has published 4 books.

Ann Fairfax does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Penelope, was published in January 1982.

The first book by Ann Fairfax, My Dear Duchess, was published in January 1979.

No. Ann Fairfax does not write books in series.