Book List in Order: 12 titles


  • John D. Fitzgerald This powerful story, presented in the simple language of 10-year-old Susan Parker, really centers around the characterization of Jerry, Sue’s 12-year-old brother. The Parker family, unused to any kind of pioneering life, leaves S...



  • This classic trickster is back again, and he's up to no good in his eighth and final book of the series. Great mix of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.Tom D. Fitzgerald--better known as T...



  • This seventh book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.Here he goes again! Tom, a.k.a. the Great Brain, comes up with many more schemes, most...



  • This sixth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.Tom Fitzgerald, better known as the Great Brain, is struggling to stay reformed now that...



  • This fifth book in the series is a great combination of The Adventures of Tom Sawyer and The Terrible Two series, and is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl.It's summer vacation, and  J. D. is determined to reform his older brother Tom, a.k...



  • Everyone knew that Tom Fitzgerald, alias The  Great Brain, would get into trouble when he went off  to school at the strict Catholic Academy for Boys  in Salt Lake City. But no one--including Tom--knew  just how much. His tongue got him into ...



  • When that shrewd conniver, Tom, the infamous Great Brain, is sent off to school in Salt Lake City, his favorite victim, J. D., figures he can step into his brother's shoes as town hustler. But J. D.'s schemes always misfire. Nothing's wrong with his ...



  • People in Adenville breathed a sigh of relief. It seemed that Tom D. Fitzgerald, The Great Brain, had truly reformed. Not one kid had been swindled and not one stunt pulled for months. But some suspected that the reform would last only until T.D. got...



  • The Great Brain is Tom D. Fitzgerald, aged 10. The story is told by J. D., a sometimes confounded but always admiring younger brother. Such people as Mr. Standish, the mean schoolmaster, regret the day they came up against the Great Brain. But others...








  • Mamma always had a way of treating everyone as a member of her own family, of giving warmth and comfort and love to people who had known little but loneliness and misfortune. And in the rugged Utah town of Adenville in the early years of this century...



Awards

The Great Brain Does It Again
1978 Young Reader's Choice Award -- Children's
The Great Brain Reforms
1976 Young Reader's Choice Award -- Children's