Abigail Gordon was born in a Lancashire cotton mill town where for lack of the countryside her playing fields were the slag heaps of a local colliery.

As for lots of families in the mill towns of those days, money was scarce, but in hers there was no shortage of love and laughter.

Once yearly the Sunday School of the Methodist Church that her family belonged to took the children on a picnic to a place called Marple Bridge in the nearby county of Cheshire, where hills and fields and a beautiful river called the Goyt were to be found and for a few hours she was in paradise.

Now, many years later, she rejoices in the privilege of living in that very same place, beside that same river that flows busily past her window, and to make life even more wonderful her three sons and their families are not far away.

Marple Bridge is a village with the same kind of caring community that she describes in her books and it attracts those who love the countryside the same now as it did all those years ago when the children from the back streets of a mill town piled off their coach and found themselves in the kind of place they hadn't known existed.

Abigail didn't begin writing until she was sixty years of age because of family commitments, and if asked what encouraged her to take up the pleasurable pastime of creating the romantic novel she replies that it was two things. The first, the persuasions of her sister who is an established author of many years, and second because she has always been fascinated by words, and says that the arranging of them to describe and fashion into something that others will want to read gives one a wonderfully satisfying feeling that is not lacking in humility.

Book List in Order: 56 titles

Complete Series List in Order

Bluebell Cove

1) Wedding Bells for the Village Nurse (Jun-2010)
2) Christmas in Bluebell Cove (Dec-2010)
3) Village Nurse's Happy-Ever-After (Jan-2011)
4) Summer Seaside Wedding (Mar-2011)

Doctors of Swallowbrook Farm

1) Swallowbrook's Winter Bride (Dec-2011)
2) Spring Proposal in Swallowbrook (Jan-2012)
3) Marriage Miracle in Swallowbrook (Jun-2012)
4) Swallowbrook's Wedding of the Year (Feb-2013)


1) A Father for Poppy (Mar-2015)
2) His Christmas Bride-to-Be (Dec-2015)


1) Christmas Magic in Heatherdale (Oct-2013)
2) Heatherdale's Shy Nurse (May-2014)

Willowmere Village

1) Christmas at Willowmere (Nov-2008)
2) A Baby for the Village Doctor (Jun-2009)
3) A Summer Wedding at Willowmere (Aug-2009)
4) Country Midwife, Christmas Bride (Nov-2009)

Multi-Author Series List

Love on Call

A Promise to Protect (Nov-1995)

Police Surgeons

Police Surgeon (Aug-1999)
The Police Surgeon's Rescue (Apr-2004)