Series Description

Craig Johnson's popular Walt Longmire series follows a sheriff in fictional Absaroka County, Wyoming. Longmire solves crime near the Northern Cheyenne Indian Reservation with the help of his longtime friend, Henry Standing Bear.

The first book in the series, The Cold Dish, was published in 2005 and Johnson has been adding books to the series ever since. The books were made into a TV series in 2012 for A&E and then moved to Netflix in 2015.

Series List in Order

Order Book Genre Date Rating
0.5 Historical / H 5 Buy
1 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
2 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
3 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
4 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
5 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
6 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
7 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
7.5 (e) Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 4 Buy



8 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 4.5 Buy
8.5 (e) Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
8.75 (e) Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
9 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
10 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
11 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
12 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
12.5 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 4.5 Buy
13 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
14 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
15 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
16 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
17 Police/Detective/Law Enforcement / PD 5 Buy
18 Mystery / M 5 Buy

Book Descriptions for series: A Walt Longmire Mystery


  • Book - 0.5

    A New York Times-bestselling collection of Longmire adventures Ten years ago, Craig Johnson wrote his first short story, the Hillerman Award-winning “Old Indian Trick.” This was one of the earliest appearances of the sheriff who would go on...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 1

    Introducing Wyoming’s Sheriff Walt Longmire in this riveting novel from the New York Times bestselling author, the first in the Longmire mystery series Fans of Ace Atkins, Nevada Barr and Robert B. Parker will love this outstanding first novel, ...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 2

    When Mari Baroja is found poisoned at the Durant Home for Assisted Liv ing, Sheriff Longmire is drawn into an investigation that reaches back fifty years into the mysterious woman's past. Her connections to Wyoming's Basque community, the lucrative c...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 3

    Walt Longmire returns for his third adventure but this time he is in the City of Brotherly Love, where no act of kindness goes unpunished Walt has been the sheriff in Wyoming's Absaroka County for twenty-four years, where his wit and charm have h...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 4

    A murder victim might connect to Walt’s past in the fourth Longmire novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Land of WolvesWhen the body of a young Vietnamese woman is discovered alongside the interstate in Wyoming's Absaroka County, She...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 5

    WYOMING'S TOUGHEST LAWMAN UNPINS HIS STAR IN A TOWN WITHOUT PITY TO SAVE A WOMAN WITHOUT HOPE Wade Barsad, a man with a dubious past and a gift for making enemies, burned his wife Mary's horses in their barn; in retribution, she shot him in the head...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 6

    When the owners of a multimillion-dollar development of ranchettes in Durant, Wyoming, want to get rid of the adjacent junkyard, they come up against the notorious Stewart clan, making the town feel like a high plains pressure cooker. Absaroka County...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 7

    Wyoming's favorite sheriff braves a frozen inferno as he races to capture an escaped murderer. Well-read and world-weary, Sheriff Walt Longmire has been maintaing order in Wyoming's Absaroka County for more than thirty years, but in this riveting ...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy
    Book - 7.5

    Sheriff Walt Longmire and his soon-to-be married daughter, Cady, hit the race track in an original story from New York Times bestselling author Craig Johnson Walt Longmire, the longtime sheriff of Absaroka County, Wyoming, has little time to relax...







    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 8

    The Wyoming lawman returns after staking his claim on the New York Times bestseller list Embarking on his eighth adventure, Wyoming Sheriff Walt Longmire has a more important matter on his mind than cowboys and criminals. His daughter, Cady, is ge...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy
    Book - 8.5

    It’s holiday season in Absaroka County and Sheriff Walt Longmire gets personal in this delightful collection of four short stories from New York Times-bestselling author Craig Johnson. Full of Longmire’s dry wit and good heart, "Christmas in ...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy
    Book - 8.75

    Sheriff Walt Longmire, his long-time friend Henry Standing Bear, and his undersheriff Victoria Moretti are returning from a fishing trip in the Bighorn Mountains when Walt receives a distress call from Crazy Woman Canyon. Forest service ranger Chuck ...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 9

    It's homecoming for the Durant Dogies when Cord Lynear, a Mormon "lost boy" forced off his compound for rebellious behavior, shows up in Absaroka County. Without much guidance, divine or otherwise, Sheriff Walt Longmire, Victoria Moretti, and Henry S...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 10

    A holiday tale from the New York Times bestselling author of the Walt Longmire mystery series, the inspiration for A&E’s hit show Longmire "It’s a question of what you have to do, what you have to live with if you don’t.” Sheriff Walt L...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 11

    Sheriff Walt Longmire is sinking into a high-plains winter discontent when his former boss, Lucian Connally, asks him to take on a mercy case outside his jurisdiction. Detective Gerald Holman of neighboring Campbell County is dead, and Lucian wants t...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 12

    When Jen, the largest, most complete Tyrannosaurus rex skeleton ever found surfaces in Sherriff Walt Longmire’s jurisdiction, it appears to be a windfall for the High Plains Dinosaur Museum -- until Danny Lone Elk, the Cheyenne rancher on whose pro...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 12.5

    Sheriff Walt Longmire and Henry Standing Bear embark on their latest adventure in this novella set in the world of Craig Johnson’s New York Times bestselling Longmire series -- the basis for the hit drama Longmire, now on Netflix Craig Johnson's...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 13

    In the 12th novel in the New York Times bestselling Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix orginal series Longmire, Walt, Henry, and Vic discover much more than they bargained for when they are called in to investigate a hit-and-run accident ...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 14

    The thirteenth novel in Craig Johnson's beloved New York Times bestselling Longmire series, the basis for the hit Netflix series Longmire Sheriff Walt Longmire is enjoying a celebratory beer after a weapons certification at the Wyoming Law Enforce...







    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 15

    Welcome to Walt Longmire's worst nightmare. In Craig Johnson's latest mystery, Depth of Winter, an international hit man and the head of one of the most vicious drug cartels in Mexico has kidnapped Walt's beloved daughter, Cady, to auction her off to...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 16

    Recovering from his harrowing experiences in Mexico, Sheriff Walt Longmire returns to Absaroka County, Wyoming, to lick his wounds and try once again to maintain justice in a place with grudges that go back generations. When a shepherd is found dead,...



    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy
    Book - 17

    One of the most viewed paintings in American history, Custer's Last Fight, copied and distributed by Anheuser-Busch at a rate of over two million copies a year, was destroyed in a fire at the 7th Cavalry Headquarters in Fort Bliss, Texas, in 1946...



  • Book - 18

    A new novel in the beloved New York Times bestselling Longmire series.When Lolo Long's niece Jaya begins receiving death threats, Tribal Police Chief Long calls on Absaroka County Sheriff Walt Longmire along with Henry Standing Bear as lethal backup....