The Eagle Catcher
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    May 1995
  • Latest Book:
    September 2016
  • Genres:
    Amateur Sleuth
  • Setting:
    Wyoming's Wind River Reservation
  • Characters:
    Father John O'Malley
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

The Wind River Series in Order (21 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 5
2 5
3 5
4 5
5 5
6 5
7 5
8 5
9 5

10 5
11 5
12 5
13 5
14 5
15 5
16 5
17 5
18 4
19 5
20 5

Book Descriptions for series: A Wind River Mystery

  • Book - 1

    On the windswept plains of Wyoming's Wind River Reservation, Arapahos have gathered for the Ethete powwow. It is a sacred time to reaffirm the balance and harmony in life. But these feelings of unity quickly give way to fear when tribal chairman Harv...

  • Book - 2

    Father John O'Malley comes across a corpse lying in a ditch beside the highway. When he returns with the police, it is gone. The Arapahos of the Wind River Reservation speak of ghost walkers-tormented souls caught between the earth and the spirit wor...

  • Book - 3

    With promises of new jobs and millions in revenue, the Wind River Reservation agrees to use their land for a nuclear storage site. But Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden is not willing to let this happen. And with help from Father John O'Malley, she sets ...

  • Book - 4

    When the Arapaho storyteller discovers that a sacred tribal artifact is missing from a local museum, attorney Vicky Holden is called to investigate. The lost treasure: a one-of-a-kind ledger boot and the only eyewitness account of Arapaho history on ...

  • Book - 5

    When a frail Father Keenan is murdered at St. Francis Mission, the community is shocked. Who would kill an ailing priest? The answer may date back to 1964, the year he abruptly left his post--and dozens of Arapaho parents were told their newborns had...

  • Book - 6

    According to legend, Sacajawea--the Native American woman who helped guide the Lewis and Clark expedition through the American wilderness--is buried on the Wind River Reservation. Now, a college professor--and longtime friend of Arapaho attorney Vick...

  • Book - 7

    The Arapahos of the Wind River Reservation are stunned by the apparent suicide of a young Indian while he was on a vision quest. A stranger's chilling confession to Father O'Malley reveals that the man was actually murdered, and more deaths are sure ...

  • Book - 8

    Father John O'Malley makes it his personal business to tend to the souls of the Wind River Reservation. With the disappearance of a young man, and his old friend Vicky Holden accused of murder--his hunch is that both events are somehow connected to t...

  • Book - 9

    The discovery of a white man's body on the Wind River Reservation has passions running high--and Father John O'Malley trying to keep the peace. Meanwhile, the newly opened Great Plains Casino--with Vicky Holden as its in-house counsel--is fighting fo...

  • Book - 10

    In 1907, photographer Edward S. Curtis arrived at the Wind River Reservation, hoping to document the Arapaho way of life before it vanished altogether. To preserve the legacy of warriors in battle, Curtis staged an attack on a village, planning to ca...

  • Book - 11

    THIS IS FOR THE INDIAN PRIEST. The cryptic message was clearly meant for Father O'Malley. The unemotional voice on the answering machine -- speaking of revenge against old enemies -- wanted O'Malley to visit the site of the Bates Battle. In 1874, ...

  • Book - 12

    An ancient petroglyph depicting a human figure struggling under water, "The Drowning Man" is worth a quarter of a million dollars to the thieves who took it--but is priceless to the Arapahos, who believe it was carved by spirits. The theft is near...

  • Book - 13

    In 1973, Liz Plenty Horses was involved with the militant American Indian Movement--helping several members wanted by the FBI blend in with her people on the Wind River Reservation. But when one of them was found and shot to death by the police, Liz ...

  • Book - 14

    In 1923, Arapahos and Shoshones from the Win River Reservation were recruited to appear as extras in The Covered Wagon, a silent film noted for being Hollywood's first Western to cast real Indians in an effort at authenticity. Charlie Wallowingbull n...

  • Book - 15

    When the Arapaho she plans to marry, Ned Windsong, is shot to death, Marcy Morrison is the only witness. Even though she identifies two Arapaho troublemakers, Ned's family believes Marcy was responsible. Convinced of Marcy's innocence, Arapaho attorn...

  • Book - 16

    After more than 120 years, the regalia worn by Arapaho Chief Black Heart in Buffalo Bill’s Wild West Show were supposed to be returned to his people. But the cartons containing the relics were empty when they arrived at the Arapaho museum. Rancher ...

  • Book - 17

    In her pulse-pounding mysteries, New York Times bestselling author Margaret Coel interweaves authentic Native American culture and history with modern-day suspense. In the latest Wind River novel, Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden and Father John O'Malle...

  • Book - 18

    With her gritty mysteries steeped in authentic Native American culture, New York Times bestselling author Margaret Coel is "widely considered the most accomplished heir to Tony Hillerman’s legacy,” (Scripps Howard News Service). In the latest Win...

  • Book - 19

    New York Times bestselling author Margaret Coel returns to Wind River with Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden and Father John O’Malley investigating a lethal link between legendary outlaw Butch Cassidy and a present-day murder… When Robert Walking ...

  • Book - 20

    Margaret Coel’s New York Times bestselling series continues as Arapaho attorney Vicky Holden and Father John O’Malley discover that a centuries-old mystery is tied to a modern-day crime on the Wind River Reservation… In the midst of a blizz...

  • In this thrilling collection of short stories, New York Times bestselling author Margaret Coel invites you to follow Father John O’Malley and Vicky Holden further into the hidden mysteries and crimes of the Wind River Reservation... When artifa...


Eye of the Wolf
2006 Colorado Book Award -- Popular Fiction
The Spirit Woman
2001 WILLA Literary Award -- Contemporary Fiction

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 21 books in the Wind River series.

The Wind River series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Winter's Child (Book 20), was published in September 2016.

The first book in the Wind River series, The Eagle Catcher, was published in May 1995.

The Wind River series primarily falls into the Amateur Sleuth genre.