Falling Free
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    April 1988
  • Latest Book:
    February 2016
  • Genres:
    Space Opera, Science Fiction
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

The Miles Vorkosigan Series in Order (21 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4.5
2 4.5
3 5
4 5
5 4.5
6 4.5
7 4.5
8 4.5
9 3.5

10 4.5
11 4.5
12 4.5
13 4.5
14 4.5
15 4.5
16 (ss) 4
17 5
17 4.5
18 4.5
18.5 4.5
19 4

Book Descriptions for series: A Miles Vorkosigan Adventure

  • Book - 1

    AND SUDDENLY HE WAS FALLING FREE... Leo Graf was just your average highly efficient engineer: mind your own business, fix what's wrong and move on to the next job. Everything neat and according to spec, just the way he liked it. But all that chang...

  • Book - 2

    IT WAS THE WRONG WAR... In the wrong place, at the wrong time, for the wrong reasons. She even wore the wrong uniform; Cordelia Naismith, Betan Expeditionary Force, had been hurried into battle still wearing her old tan Astronomical Survey fatigue...

  • Book - 3

    NOT MY CHILD, YOU DON'T... Cordelia Naismith, legendary ship commander in the Betan Expeditionary Force, a woman who beat the Barrayaran militarists at their own game, was never one to fulfill stereotypes. Having married the commander of the forces ...

  • Book - 4

    Discharged from the Barrarayan academy after flunking the physical, a discouraged Miles Vorkosigan takes possession of a jumpship and becomes the leader of a mercenary force that expands to a fleet of treasonous proportions. ...

  • Book - 5

    Twenty-year-old Ensign Miles Vorkosigan plays detective in a murder case, and tests the balance of power as a member of the Barrayaran nobility. ...

  • Book - 6

    THE PRINCE AND THE MERCENARY Together, they can get into a lot of trouble. Trouble only the combined forces of the Free Dendarii Mercenaries can get them out of. At least, that's what they're hoping... In this latest adventure with the galaxy's...

  • Book - 7

    PEACE HAD BROKEN OUT ALL OVER THE PLANET... Which made it tough, to be a mercenary captain. If his enemies would just leave him alone, Miles Naismith decided bitterly, the, Dendarii Free Mercenary Fleet would collapse all on its own. But Miles'...

  • Book - 8

    Cetaganda is the latest installment of the Hugo-award winning adventures of Miles Vorkosigan, in which Miles and Cousin Ivan go to Cetaganda to play the part of sprigs of the nobility doing their diplomatic duty by good old Barrayar. The idea is that...

  • Book - 10

    When Miles Vorkosigan is captured while on a secret mission to a lawless world, his only hope of escape is an unlikely pair of allies: a quaddie and a teenage werewolf. ...

  • Book - 11

    TRICK QUIZ Which best describes a Vor Lord? a) Officer in the Barrayaran Imperial Space Service b) Supreme Commander of a Mercenary Company c) Detective, Judge and executioner in a back-country murder d) Rescuer of Damsels Deeply Distressed ...

  • Book - 12

    THE CLONED STRANGERS Not everyone would envy young Lord Miles Naismith Vorkosigan, even though he had formed his own mercenary fleet before attending the naval academy, and even though his mother was the beautiful Cordelia, the ship captain who ha...

  • Book - 13

    ONE LIFE TO LIVE...WELL, TWO, ACTUALLY Dying is easy. Coming back to life is hard. At least that's what Miles Vorkosigan thinks and he should know, having done both once already. Thanks to his quick-thinking staff and the specialist who revived...

  • Book - 14

    Komarr could be a garden--with a thousand more years work. Or an uninhabitable wasteland, if the terraforming fails. Now the solar mirror vital to the terraforming of the conquered planet has been shattered by a ship hurtling off course. The Emperor ...

  • Book - 15

    ONE CUNNING PLAN TOO MANY... ? It's spring in Vorbarr Sultana, and a young person's fancy lightly turns to thoughts of love ... money ... bio-genetics ... love ... lack of money ... incompatible planetary sexual mores ... love ... District success...

  • Book - 16

    Hearts collide and desire consumes in worlds and ages far from our own.... Six of today's most popular authors join talents in this unique anthology that shows love can conquer all...even the boundaries of time and space. These stories -- many...

  • Book - 17

    A COMEDY OF TERRORS A rich Komarran merchant fleet has been impounded at Graf Station, in distant Quaddiespace, after a bloody incident on the station docks involving a security officer from the convoy's Barrayaran military escort. Lord Miles Vork...

  • Book - 17

    Miles Vorkosigan is back Kibou-daini is a planet obsessed with cheating death. Barrayaran Imperial Auditor Miles Vorkosigan can hardly disapprove--he's been cheating death his whole life, on the theory that turnabout is fair play. But when a Kibou-d...

  • Book - 18

    Captain Ivan Vorpatril is happy with his relatively uneventful bachelor’s life of a staff officer to a Barrayaran admiral. Ivan, cousin to Imperial troubleshooter Miles Vorkosigan, is not far down the hereditary list for the emperorship. Thankfully...

  • Book - 18.5

    Still new to her duties as Lady Vorkosigan, Ekaterin is working together with expatriate scientist Enrique Borgos on a radical scheme to recover the lands of the Vashnoi exclusion zone, lingering radioactive legacy of the Cetagandan invasion of the p...

  • Book - 19

    Cordelia Naismith Vorkosigan returns to the planet that changed her destiny. FUTURE TENSE Three years after her famous husband’s death, Cordelia Vorkosigan, widowed Vicereine of Sergyar, stands ready to spin her life in a new direction. Olive...


1992 Hugo Award -- Novel
1992 Locus Award -- Science Fiction
Captain Vorpatril's Alliance
2014 Audies -- Science Fiction
Falling Free
1989 Nebula Award -- Novel
Mirror Dance
1995 Hugo Award -- Novel
1995 Locus Award -- Science Fiction
The Vor Game
1991 Hugo Award -- Novel
Winterfair Gifts
2004 Romance Readers Anonymous Award -- Best Romance Novella

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 21 books in The Miles Vorkosigan series.

The Miles Vorkosigan series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Gentleman Jole and the Red Queen (Book 19), was published in February 2016.

The first book in The Miles Vorkosigan series, Falling Free, was published in April 1988.

The Miles Vorkosigan series primarily falls into the Space Opera and Science Fiction genres.