Primary Inversion
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    March 1995
  • Latest Book:
    July 2020
  • Genres:
    Space Opera
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

Saga of the Skolian Empire Series in Order (18 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 3.5
2 4.5
3 4
4 4
5 4
6 4.5
7 4
8 4
9 3.5

10 4
11 4
12 4.5
13 5
14 4
15 4.5
16 5
17 5

Book Descriptions for series: Saga of the Skolian Empire

  • Book - 1

    The Skolian Empire rules a third of the civilized galaxy through its mastery of faster-than-light communication. But war with the rival empire of the Traders seems imminent, a war that can only lead to slavery for the Skolians or the destruction of b...

  • Book - 2

    In the distant future, the Skolian Empire rules one third of the human galaxy, and is the most powerful of all. For the ruling family has the power of telepathy, and through it, the ability to communicate faster than light... across interstellar spac...

  • Book - 4

    Living in exile on a deserted planet, Sauscony and Jaibriol, each the heir to an interstellar empire, become entangled in the machinations of the Skolian Empire. Interstellar war erupts and Jaibriol is snatched away to be the unwilling ruler of the H...

  • Book - 5

    "O lucky, lucky readers. Catherine Asaro adds another glittering gem to her Skolian collection with Ascendant Sun, the continuing adventures of Kelric, the Last Hawk, after his return from the isolated planet of Coba. Skolia, however, is very differe...

  • Book - 6

    Kamoj Argali is the young ruler of an impoverished province on a backward planet. To keep her people from starving, she has agreed to marry Jax Ironbridge, the boorish and brutal ruler of a prosperous province. But before Argali and Ironbridge are we...

  • Book - 7

    THE REBIRTH OF A DYNASTY Separated for decades by circumstance and political machinations, the Ruby Dynasty, hereditary rulers of Skolia, struggle to bring together the tattered remnants of their family in the shadow of a disastrous interstellar w...

  • Book - 8

    At the age of seventeen the young nobleman named Jaibriol Qox became ruler of a vast galactic empire -- and lost everything he had ever valued. Born of a clandestine liaison between a renegade daughter of the Skolian Imperialate and a scion of th...

  • Book - 9

    THE BIRTH OF AN EMPIRE Skyfallgoes back to the beginning, to the rebirth of Skolia, showing how a chance meeting on a backwater planet forges a vast interstellar empire. Eldrinson, a provincial ruler on a primitive planet, is plagued by inner demo...

  • Book - 10

    Return to the early years of the Skolian Empire Before open conflict waged between the Skolian Empire and the Euban Traders, there was a cold war, a battle of subterfuge and treaty negotiation. But now, Eube senses an opportunity, for strife has r...

  • Book - 11

    The Final Key is the second and concluding part of the story known as Triad, which began in Schism. Schism ended with the Skolian Empire torn asunder by personal conflict within the royal family, as Sauscony defied her father and joined the Skolian m...

  • Book - 12

    Two men, two empires. Jaibriol ruled the Eubian Concord: over two trillion people across more than a thousand worlds and habitats. Kelric ruled the Skolian Imperialate. War had come before--ten years ago, Jaibriol had lost his parents in the final ba...

  • Book - 13

    I LOVE ROCK AND ROLL Del Valdoria was an heir of the Ruby Dynasty, rulers of the interstellar empire called the Skolian Imperialate. But he just wanted to sing holo-rock -- not a respectable activity for a Ruby prince. To make things more complicat...

  • Book - 14

    Carnelians. Two empires. And five hundred years of war. The leaders of the Eubian empire and Skolian Imperialate have survived political intrigue, military coups and murder attempts as they worked to forge a peace treaty between their two empires....

  • Book - 15

    BOOK ONE IN A BRAND NEW SERIES by Nebula and Hugo Award Winner Catherine Asaro set in the world of her Skolian Empire universe. In the galaxy-spanning future, Major Bhaajan is a tough female P.I. who works the dangerous streets of Undercity. Majo...

  • Book - 16

    TOUGH FEMALE P.I. EXPLORING THE UNDERWORLD OF A VAST STAR EMPIRE. Book two in a new series set in the world of Catherine Asaro's Skolian Empire series. Major Bhaajan achieved the impossible. Born to the Undercity, the slums below the City of Crie...

  • Book - 17

    SURVIVE THE CITY OF CRIES Bhaajan grew up in the Undercity, a community hidden in the ruins buried beneath the glittering City of Cries. Caught between the astonishing beauty and crushing poverty of that life, and caught by wanderlust, she enliste...

  • Major Bhaajan returns to the desolate, sand-swept world of her rough-edged childhood because her detective skills have earned her a lucrative assignment: find a runaway son of the ruling dynasty. Forays into Raylicon's Underworld, treachery, encounte...


The City of Cries
2007 RWA PRISM Award -- Best of the Best
2007 RWA PRISM Award -- Novella
The Quantum Rose
2002 Nebula Award -- Novel
2003 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- Science Fiction Novel

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 18 books in the Saga of the Skolian Empire series.

The Saga of the Skolian Empire series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Vanished Seas (Book 17), was published in July 2020.

The first book in the Saga of the Skolian Empire series, Primary Inversion, was published in March 1995.

The Saga of the Skolian Empire series primarily falls into the Space Opera genre.
No ads, please...

$20 / year

FictionDB Premium Membership