River of Darkness
  • Length:
    6 Books
  • First:
    June 1999
  • Latest:
    January 2020
  • Rating:

Series List in Order

Order Book Genre Date Rating
1 Historical Mystery / HM 4.5 Buy
2 Historical Mystery / HM 4.5 Buy
3 Historical Mystery / HM 4 Buy
4 Historical Mystery / HM 4.5 Buy
5 Historical Mystery / HM 4.5 Buy
6 Mystery / M 4.5 Buy

Book Descriptions for series: A John Madden Mystery

  • Book - 1

    As rural England slowly emerges from World War I, a particularly vicious attack on a household in a small village leaves five butchered bodies and no explanation for the killings. Scotland Yard sends Inspector John Madden, still recovering from his o...

  • Book - 2

    "Unnerving... from [a] richly textured background, Airth draws a vivid cast of full-bodied characters and a plot that satisfies."—The New York Times Book ReviewWith the publication of the New York Times Notable Book River of Darkness, Rennie Airth ...

  • Book - 3

    "[Rennie Airth's] meticulously detailed procedural mysteries are beautifully written . . . well worth reading, and rereading." -Marilyn Stasio, The New York Times Book Review On a freezing London night in 1944, Rosa Novak is brutally murdered during...

  • Book - 4

    Inspector John Madden -- who debuted in River of Darkness -- returns in a gripping post-World War II murder mystery On a quiet afternoon in 1947, retired bank manager Oswald Gibson is shot in the head while fishing. In Scotland, a respectable fam...

  • Book - 5

    In the fifth novel in the critically acclaimed John Madden series, the former Scotland Yard detective returns in a gripping post-World War II mystery that will delight fans of Philip Kerr On a hot summer day in 1938, a beautiful actress is murder...

  • Book - 6

    Snowed in at a country manor, former Scotland Yard inspectors John Madden and Angus Sinclair find themselves trapped in the company of a murderer. On a trip into Winchester, former chief inspector Angus Sinclair learns of a tragedy that has taken ...