The King's Coat
  • Length:
    26 Books
  • First Book:
    July 1989
  • Latest Book:
    May 2019
  • Genres:
    Action Adventure, Historical
  • Series Rating:

The Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie Series in Order (26 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4
2 5
3 5
4 5
5 5
6 3
7 5
8 4
9 0

10 4
11 3.5
12 5
13 4
14 5
15 4
16 5
17 5
18 4
19 5
20 5
21 4
22 5
23 5
24 5
25 4
26 4

Book Descriptions for series: The Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie

  • Book - 1

    The very first Alan Lewrie naval adventure in this classic series is now back in print!

    1780: Seventeen-year-old Alan Lewrie is a brash, rebellious young libertine. So much so that his callous father believes a bit of navy discipline will turn...

  • Book - 2

    Midshipman Alan Lewrie disembarks from the frigate H.M.S. "Desperate" to take part in the fierce land battle at Yorktown, where he meets the Chiswick brothers and their lovely sister and uncovers clues to his mysterious past...

  • Book - 3

    1782 First officer on brig o'war . . .
    Fresh from duty on the frigate Desperate in her fight with the French Capricieuse off St. Kitts, Midshipman Alan Lewrie passes his examination board for Lieutenancy and finds himself commissioned first offic...

  • Book - 4

    1783: His Majesty's secret agent

    Fresh from war in the Americas, young navy veteran Alan Lewrie finds London pure pleasure. Then, at Plymouth he boards the trading ship Telesto, to find out why merchantmen are disappearing in the East Indies. ...

  • Book - 5

    "You could get addicted to this series. Easily."
    --The New York Times Book Review
    1788--Bahamas Squadron . . .
    A fighter, rogue, and ladies man, Alan Lewrie has done the unthinkable and gotten himself hitched--to a woman and a ship! The woma...

  • Book - 6

    "You could get addicted to this series. Easily."

    *The New York Times Book Review

    1793 *In the seas of revolution . . .

    A farmer, a bloody farmer! Knee-deep in dung and fathoms from the nearest port, Alan...

  • Book - 7

    1793--For love of war and money . . .

    Once a French corvette, she was reborn HMS Jester, sleek and fast. At her sea-sprayed helm is former Midshipman Alan Lewrie, turned grizzled warrior by trade. But when Commander Lewrie reaches the island o...

  • Book - 8

    The year is 1796 and the soil of Piedmont and Tuscany runs with blood, another battle takes shape on the mysterious Adriatic Sea. Alan Lewrie and his 18-gun sloop, HMS Jester, part of a squadron of four British warships, sail into the thick of it. Bu...

  • Book - 10

    Following the footsteps of Horatio Hornblower and Jack Aubrey, whose ripping adventures capture thousands of new readers each year, comes the heir apparent to the mantle of Forester and O'Brian: Dewey Lambdin, and his acclaimed Alan Lewrie series....

  • Book - 11

    Captain Alan Lewrie returns in Dewey Lambdin's tenth roaring adventure on the high seas.

    This time, it's off to a failing British intervention on the ultra-rich French colony of Saint Domingue, wracked by an utterly cruel and bloodthirsty s...

  • Book - 12

    Dewey Lambdin's lovable but incorrigible rogue, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is back to cut a wide and wicked swatch through the war-torn Caribbean in Havoc's Sword, an entirely new high seas adventure.

    It's 1798, and Lewrie and his cre...

  • Book - 13

    It is early February, 1799, a year of war.

    Sailing in the Caribbean, Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is once again pursuing a chimera.
    A rich French prize ship he'd left at anchor at Dominica has gone missing, along with six of his sai...

  • Book - 14

    A King's Trade is the powder-packed thirteenth installment in Dewey Lambdin's classic naval adventure series.

    After Yellow Fever decimated the crew of Alan Lewrie's HMS Proteus, it had seemed like a knacky idea to abscond with a dozen slaves...

  • Book - 15

    Troubled Waters is the fourteenth tale in Dewey Lambdin's classic naval adventure series.

    It is the spring of 1800. Captain Alan Lewrie, fresh from victory in the South Atlantic, is back in England and fitting out his new frigate, the HMS Sa...

  • Book - 16

    January 1801, and Captain Alan Lewrie, RN, known as "St. Alan the Liberator" for freeing (stealing!) a dozen black slaves on Jamaica to man his frigate years before, is at last being brought to trial for it, with his life on the line. At the same tim...

  • Book - 17

    December 1801. The Peace of Amiens end the long war with Napoleon Bonaparte's France, but Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is appalled by its consequences. First, he's been in the Navy since 1780 (most unwillingly, most of the time ) and at sea for t...

  • Book - 18

    Lambdin's latest high-seas adventure takes Captain Alan Lewrie from the shores of Haiti to the English Channel to defend Britain from Napoleon's planned invasion The smashing series featuring the roguish Captain Alan Lewrie continues with The Inva...

  • Book - 19

    Pity poor Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy! He's been wind-muzzled for weeks in Portsmouth, snugly tucked into a warm shore bed with lovely, and loving, Lydia Stangbourne, a Viscount's daughter, and beginning to enjoy indulging his idle streak, when A...

  • Book - 20

    In 1805, with news of Admiral Nelson's death fresh on his mind, Captain Lewrie's HMS Reliant joins up in the voyage that will culminate in the Battle of Cape Town, in which the British wrested control of South Africa from the Dutch. In the wake of th...

  • Book - 21

    The year 1807 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy. His frigate HMS Reliant has a new captain, he’s living at his father’s estate at Anglesgreen, among spiteful neighbors and family, and he’s recovering from a wound suffered in ...

  • Book - 22

    Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, is still in Gibraltar, his schemes for raids along the coast of Southern Spain shot to a halt. He is reduced to commanding a clutch of harbor defense gunboats in the bay while his ship, HMS Sapphire, slowly grounds he...

  • Book - 23

    The year 1809 starts out badly for Captain Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, and his ship, HMS Sapphire. They’ve extracted the sick, cold survivors of Sir John Moore’s army from disaster at Corunna, got hit by lightning while escorting the army to England...

  • Book - 24

    Dewey Lambdin, the reigning master of maritime fiction, continues the adventures of Alan Lewrie, Royal Navy, from his days as a midshipman to captain of his own ship and, though on somewhat dubious grounds, a baronetcy. Captain Alan Lewrie and his...

  • Book - 25

    From reigning master of maritime fiction Dewey Lambdin comes the latest in the Alan Lewrie naval series, AN ONSHORE STORM, where Lewrie will take on his roughest adventure: maritime life beyond the navy For over twenty years, Dewey Lambdin's devot...

  • Book - 26

    Lewrie loses his ship and his command when he receives news that Vigilance must return to England to be decommissioned and turned over to the dockyards for a complete refit. Lewrie is grounded, put on half-pay, and his crew disperses to look for new ...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 26 books in The Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie series.

The Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Much Ado About Lewrie (Book 26), was published in May 2019.

The first book in The Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie series, The King's Coat, was published in July 1989.

The Naval Adventures of Alan Lewrie series primarily falls into the Action Adventure and Historical genres.
No ads, please
$20 / year
  • Go ad-free with a FictionDB premium membership.