Author Information
Suzanne Collins
  • Bibliography:
    14 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    February 1999
  • Latest Book:
    May 2020
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Suzanne Collins began her career writing for children's television, including such beloved shows as Clarissa Explains It All and Little Bear. Her first book was Gregor the Overlander, part of her fantasy/war series The Underland Chronicles.

Collins is now best known for The Hunger Game series, which is both critically acclaimed and hugely popular amongst readers of all ages. The movie adaptation of the first book, The Hunger Games, was released in March 2012. She lives in Connecticut with her family.

Full Series List in Order

Hunger Games

0.1 - The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (May-2020)
1 - The Hunger Games (Oct-2008)
2 - Catching Fire (Sep-2009)
3 - Mockingjay (Aug-2010)

The Underland Chronicles

1 - Gregor the Overlander (Sep-2003)
2 - Gregor and the Prophecy of Bane (Sep-2004)
3 - Gregor and the Curse of the Warmbloods (Jul-2005)
4 - Gregor and the Marks of Secret (May-2006)
5 - Gregor and the Code of Claw (Apr-2007)

Book List in Order: 14 titles

  • In London as part of a student cultural exchange program, Shelby Woo and her friends, Vince and Angie, find themselves investigating a strange case of arson after a fire breaks out during a performance of Romeo and Juliet and shuts down the t...

  • WHEN ELEVEN-YEAR-OLD GREGOR follows his little sister through a grate in the laundry room of their New York apartment building, he hurtles into the dark Underland beneath the city. There, humans live uneasily besides giant spiders, bats, cockroaches,...

  • MONTHS HAVE PASSED SINCE GREGOR first fell into the strange Underland beneath New York City, and he swears he will never go back. But he is destined to be a key player in another prophecy, this one about an ominous white rat called the Bane. The Unde...

  • An electifying picture book from the author of The Hunger Games.Charlie McButton likes computer games so much, he never plays with anything else. When a thunderstorm knocks out the electricity, his tech empire comes tumbling down, and his whole world...

  • WITH TWO PROPHECIES FULFILLED, Gregor is now focused on the Prophecy of Blood, which calls for Gregor and Boots to return to the Underland to help ward off a plague. But this time, his mother refuses to let him go ... until Ripred the rat convinces h...

  • NOW, WITH THE THIRD PROPHECY fulfilled, Gregor is drawn ever deeper into a brewing crisis. For generations, rats have run the mice -- or "nibblers" -- out of whatever lands they've claimed, keeping them constantly on the move. But now the mice ar...

  • EVERYONE HAS BEEN TRYING TO KEEP GREGOR from seeing The Prophecy of Time. That is because the final prophecy calls for the warrior's death. With an army of rats quickly approaching and time running out, Gregor must defend Regalia and get his family b...

  • WINNING MEANS FAME AND FORTUNE. LOSING MEANS CERTAIN DEATH. THE HUNGER GAMES HAVE BEGUN. IN THE RUINS of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh ...

  • SPARKS ARE IGNITING. FLAMES ARE SPREADING. AND THE CAPITOL WANTS REVENGE. Against all odds, Katniss has won the Hunger Games. She and fellow District 12 tribute Peeta Mellark are miraculously still alive. Katniss should be relieved, happy even. Aft...

  • MY NAME IS KATNISS EYERDEEN. WHY AM I NOT DEAD? I SHOULD BE DEAD. Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss's family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 ...

  • Here is the ultimate guide to the twenty-four Tributes participating in Panem's 74th annual Hunger Games. Follow the Tributes' journey from the Reaping to the Games, with a look at all the highlights along the way--the Tribute Parade, the stations of...

  • NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Suzanne Collins has created a deeply moving autobiographical picture book about a father who must go off to the war in Vietnam -- and the daughter who stays behind. When young Suzy's father leaves for Vietnam, she...

  • Ambition will fuel him. Competition will drive him. But power has its price. It is the morning of the reaping that will kick off the tenth annual Hunger Games. In the Capitol, eighteen-year-old Coriolanus Snow is preparing for his one shot at g...

Award-Winning Books by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire
2009 Goodreads Choice Award -- All-Time Favorite
2009 Goodreads Choice Award -- Young Adult Series
2010 Indies Choice Book Award -- Young Adult
2012 Golden Archer Award -- Middle/Junior High
Gregor the Overlander
2006 Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award -- Grades 6-8
2007 Young Hoosier Book Award -- Intermediate
The Hunger Games
2008 Cybils -- Fantasy/Sci-Fi/YA
2008 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- Young Adult
2009 Buckeye Children's Book Award -- Teen
2009 Florida Teens Read -- Grades 9-12
2009 Georgia Peach Book Award for Teen Readers -- Young Adult
2009 Isinglass Teen Read Award -- Grades 6-8
2010 Beehive Award -- Young Adult
2010 Black-Eyed Susan Award -- High School
2010 Charlotte Award -- Young Adult
2010 Colorado Blue Spruce Award -- Young Adult
2010 Dorothy Canfield Fisher Children's Book Award -- Children's
2010 Eliot Rosewater Indiana High School Book Award -- Grades 9-12
2010 Gateway Readers Award -- High School
2010 Heartland Award -- Young Adult
2010 Iowa High School Book Award -- Young Adult
2010 Kentucky Bluegrass Award -- Grades 9-12
2010 Land of Enchantment Book Award -- Young Adult
2010 Maine Student Book Award -- Grades 4-8
2010 Nevada Young Readers' Award -- Young Adult
2010 Pennsylvania Young Reader's Choice Award -- Young Adult
2010 Rhode Island Teen Book Award -- Ages 12 & Up
2010 South Carolina Childrens, Junior and Young Adult Book Award -- Junior Book
2010 South Carolina Childrens, Junior and Young Adult Book Award -- Young Adult
2010 Truman Readers Award -- Grades 6-8
2010 Volunteer State Book Award -- Young Adult
2011 California Young Reader Medal -- Young Adult
2011 Evergreen Young Adult Book Award -- Young Adult
2011 Garden State Teen Book Award -- Fiction (Grades 9-12)
2011 Golden Archer Award -- Middle/Junior High
2011 Golden Sower Award -- Young Adult
2011 Grand Canyon Reader Award -- Teen
2011 Grand Canyon Reader Award -- Tween
2011 Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award -- Grades 4-8
2011 Sequoyah Book Award -- High School
2011 Sequoyah Book Award -- Intermediate
2011 Virginia Readers Choice Award -- High School
2011 Young Hoosier Book Award -- Middle Grades
2011 Young Reader's Choice Award -- Senior/Grades 10-12
2012 Georgia Children's Book Award -- Children's Book
2012 Nutmeg Book Award -- Teen
2010 Goodreads Choice Award -- Favorite Book of 2010
2010 Goodreads Choice Award -- Young Adult Fantasy
2013 Golden Archer Award -- Middle/Junior High
Year of the Jungle
2014 Christopher Award -- Books for Young People

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Suzanne Collins has published 14 books.

Suzanne Collins does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes, was published in May 2020.

The first book by Suzanne Collins, Fire Proof, was published in February 1999.

Yes. Suzanne Collins has 2 series.