Author Information
Lensey Namioka's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    19 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    April 1980
  • Latest Book:
    December 2007
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order


1 - Yang the Youngest and His Terrible Ear (May-1992)
2 - Yang the Third and Her Impossible Family (Apr-1995)

Zenta and Matsuzo Mystery

1 - The Samurai and the Long-Nosed Devils (Sep-2004)
2 - White Serpent Castle (Sep-2004)
3 - Valley of the Broken Cherry Trees (Apr-1980)
4 - Village of the Vampire Cat (Apr-1981)
5 - Island Of Ogres (Sep-2005)
6 - The Coming Of The Bear (Sep-2005)

Book List in Order: 19 titles

  • Everyone in the Yang family is a talented musician except for nine-year-old Yingtao, the youngest Yang. Even after years of violin lessons from his father, Yingtao cannot make beautiful music. Now that his family has moved from China to Seattle, Y...

  • Yingmei Yang has changed her name to Mary now that she's learning how to be American. It's hard since her family sticks to their Chinese customs, which can be embarrassing in public. Still, Mary wants to be best friends with popular Holly Hanson. She...

  • Who is the White Fox? Is he merely the mysterious, charismatic leader of a doomed political rebellion? Or is he a powerful spirit, taking revenge on the occupying force that desecrated his shrine? And who-or what-shoves Zenta off a cliff on a dark an...

  • The entertaining sequel to Yang the Youngest and His Terrible Ear and Yang the Third and Her Impossible Family offers a delightful study of growing up Asian American and the many hilarious ways in which things do not always turn out a...

  • Third Sister in the Tao family, Ailin has watched her two older sisters go through the painful process of having their feet bound. In China in 1911, all the women of good families follow this ancient tradition. But Ailin loves to run away from her go...

  • After swallowing the Hunger Monster, Jiro begins eating everything in sight--including his sister's sushi, his own quilt, and the fishing nets--until his family finds a way to lure the monster out of Jiro's stomach....

  • Civil wars ravaged Japan in the 16th century. Thousands of samurai were left jobless when their feudal lords were overthrown. These masterless samurai,or ronin, wandered the country looking for work and adventure. The Samurai and the Long-Nosed Devi...

  • This young adult mystery novel is set in feudal Japan where a fascinating plot unfolds along with a wealth of information about classical Japanese history and culture. When Zenta and Matsuzo two sixteenth century Japanese samurai arrive at the Whit...

  • FIONA CHENG IS half and half: Her father is Chinese and her mother is Scottish. Fiona looks more like her father than her mother, so people always expect her to be more interested in her Chinese half than her Scottish half. Lately even Fiona‚Äôs conf...

  • The story of Zenta and Matsuzo, wandering ronin with skills and a code of honor unlike other citizens of Japan. Stoic Zenta and carefree Matsuzo fall in and out of extraordinary adventures, and solve myteries that leave others baffled. Set in 16th ce...

  • Sue Hua just moved from racially diverse Seattle to a suburban white-bread town where she feels like the only Asian American for miles. Then she meets Andy, a handsome and passionate violin player who just happens to be Asian like herself. Sue feels ...

  • April Chen is happily planning to go away to college, and she has a great new boyfriend, Steve. But as the only girl in her family, April is expected to take care of her grandmother. And Grandma, "the Dragon Lady," hates Steve and has other plans for...

  • While most 16-year-old girls are planning their weddings, Xueyan, known as Yanyan, has no interest at all in marriage. She is fascinated by medicine. In China in 1921, women rarely attend university, let alone medical school. Still, Yanyan is determi...

Award-Winning Books by Lensey Namioka

Ties That Bind, Ties That Break
2004 California Young Reader Medal -- High School

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Lensey Namioka has published 19 books.

Lensey Namioka does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Ocean Apart, a World Away, was published in December 2007.

The first book by Lensey Namioka, Valley of the Broken Cherry Trees, was published in April 1980.

Yes. Lensey Namioka has 2 series.