Ilsa Evans is an Australian author. She has written across several genres from light fiction (such as the books that make up the 'laundry series') to more gritty social realism. Two of her books, Broken and Sticks and Stones stem from the findings of a PhD on the long-term effects of family violence that Ilsa completed in 2005. Ilsa teaches creative writing and carries out public speaking when she is not writing. She lives in the Dandenong Ranges east of Melbourne with her children, assorted pets and several uninvited possums.

Book List in Order: 6 titles


  • Two women abduct and hide out with their four-year-old granddaughter Avery, who they suspect is being harmed. They both love Avery ... shame they can't stand each other. A wise and witty novel for readers of Sophie Green and Brooke Davis. What would ...



  • It was supposed to be the holiday of a lifetime ... When Nell Forrest's life hits a speed bump (which is most definitely "not" a midlife crisis) a cruise around the Mediterranean seems like just the ticket. Unfortunately, that's an idea shared by h...



  • This time it's personal... The last thing Nell Forrest expected when she tried to plant a tree was to unearth the skeletal remains of a former resident. Now her new backyard is swarming with police, there's a television news crew camped next door, a...



  • There are secrets in the sleepy town of Majic, where the past trips over the present ... and then looks the other way. The country town of Majic is about to celebrate a milestone. It's been 150 years since the founding father, Petar Majic, rode into...



  • Welcome to the sleepy town of Majic, where neighbourhood watch is a killer ... For Nell Forrest, life in the little town of Majic is not going smoothly. One of her five daughters has just swapped university for fruit-picking, another is about to hit...



    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    Sticks and stones may break my bones, but words will never hurt me. "What a ridiculous saying." Jenny nodded. "Bruises heal, eventually, but the words – they're there forever." "Actually the words are like sticks and stones," said Fiona qui...