Author Information
Thanhha Lai's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    5 Books
  • First Book:
    March 2011
  • Latest Book:
    May 2023
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 5 titles



  • No one would believe me but at times I would choose wartime in Saigon over peacetime in Alabama. For all the ten years of her life, HA has only known Saigon: the thrills of its markets, the joy of its traditions, the warmth of her friends close by...



  • This remarkable novel from Thanhhà Lại, New York Times bestselling author of the National Book Award-winning and Newbery Honor Book Inside Out & Back Again, follows a young girl as she learns the true meaning of family. A California girl born a...



  • Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika L. Sanchez, this gorgeously written and deeply moving own voices novel is the YA debut from the award-winning author of Inside Out & Back Again. In the final days of the Việt Nam War, H...



  • A stunning picture book debut, showcasing the love between grandparents and grandchildren, the challenges of memory loss, and the joy that sweet reminders of a faraway home can bring, from award-winning, bestselling author Thanhhà Lại.This...



  • A Boston Globe"Horn Book Award finalist!Inspired by the author’s own childhood, this stunning novel in verse, the sequel to the award-winning #1 bestseller Inside Out and Back Again, picks up two years after Hà and her family arrive in Alab...




Award-Winning Books by Thanhha Lai

Butterfly Yellow
2020 Scott O Dell Award for Historical Fiction -- Historical Fiction
Inside Out and Back Again
2011 National Book Award -- Young People's Literature


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Thanhha Lai has published 5 books.

Thanhha Lai does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, When Clouds Touch Us, was published in May 2023.

The first book by Thanhha Lai, Inside Out and Back Again, was published in March 2011.

No. Thanhha Lai does not write books in series.