Author Information
Kristin Cashore's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    7 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    October 2008
  • Latest Book:
    June 2024
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Kristin Cashore grew up in a rural area of the northeast Pennsylvania, as the second of four daughters. During her childhood she read constantly. She received a bachelor's degree from Williams College and a master's from the Center for the Study of Children's Literature at Simmons College, where she worked with Liza Ketchum and was named a Virginia Haviland Scholar. She has worked as a dog runner, a packer in a candy factory, an editorial assistant, and a legal assistant. She is a freelance educational writer who writes content for textbooks and teacher editions, as well as book reviews for The Horn Book Guide and other publications. Since 2008 she also wrote fantasy novels for Young Adults.

She has lived in Pennsylvania, Florida, Sydney, Boston, Cambridge, Austin, Italy and even London before settling, for the moment, in Massachusetts.

Full Series List in Order


1 - Graceling (Oct-2008)
2 - Fire (Oct-2009)
3 - Bitterblue (May-2012)
4 - Winterkeep (Jan-2021)
5 - Seasparrow (Nov-2022)

Book List in Order: 7 titles

  • Katsa has been able to kill a man with her bare hands since she was eight--she's a Graceling, one of the rare people in her land born with an extreme skill. As niece of the king, she should be able to live a life of privilege, but Graced as she is wi...

  • She is the last of her kind... It is not a peaceful time in the Dells. In King City, the young King Nash is clinging to the throne, while rebel lords in the north and south build armies to unseat him. War is coming. And the mountains and forest ar...

  • Welcome to a glorious realm of mystery, magic, heroism and danger. In a world where a small percentage of people have an extreme skill called a Grace, King Leck's Grace allowed him to tell lies that everyone believed. When Bitterblue became que...

  • Jane has lived a mostly ordinary life, raised by her recently deceased aunt Magnolia, whom she counted on to turn life into an adventure. Without Aunt Magnolia, Jane is lost. So she's easily swept away when a glamorous, capricious, and wealthy ac...

  • Something is rotten in the heart of Winterkeep... Four years after Bitterblue left off, a new land has been discovered to the east: Torla; and the closest nation to Monsea is Winterkeep. Winterkeep is a land of miracles, a democratic republic run ...

  • Make the harrowing journey home with Queen Bitterblue's sister and spy, in the fifth novel in the bestselling Graceling Realm series. Hava sails across the sea toward Monsea with her sister, the royal entourage, and the world’s only copies of the f...

  • A magic-tinged contemporary YA about grief and hope from the acclaimed New York Times bestselling author of the Graceling Realm novels.Wilhelmina Hart is part of the infamous class of 2020. Her high school years began with a shocking presidentia...

Award-Winning Books by Kristin Cashore

2012 New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association Award -- Young Adult
2009 Cybils -- Fantasy/Sci-Fi/YA
2012 Garden State Teen Book Award -- Fiction (Grades 9-12)
2009 Pat Conroy Southern Book Prize -- Young Adult
2009 SIBA Book Award -- Young Adult
2010 Florida Teens Read -- Grades 9-12
2011 Green Mountain Book Award -- Grades 9-12
2011 Rhode Island Teen Book Award -- Ages 12 & Up
2012 California Young Reader Medal -- Young Adult

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Kristin Cashore has published 7 books.

The next book by Kristin Cashore, There Is a Door in this Darkness, will be published in June 2024.

The first book by Kristin Cashore, Graceling, was published in October 2008.

Yes. Kristin Cashore has 1 series.