Joseph Alexander Altsheler (April 29, 1862 – June 5, 1919) was an American newspaper reporter, editor and author of popular juvenile Historical fiction.

Book List in Order: 102 titles

Complete Series List in Order

The Civil War

1) The Guns of Bull Run (Jan-1914)
2) The Guns of Shiloh (Jan-1914)
3) The Scouts of Stonewall (Jan-1914)
4) The Sword of Antietam (Oct-1914)
5) The Star of Gettysburg (Jan-1915)
6) The Rock of Chickamauga (Jan-1915)
7) The Shades of the Wilderness (Jan-1916)
8) The Tree of Appomattox (Jan-1916)

The French and Indian War Series

1) The Hunters of the Hills (Oct-1916)
2) The Shadow of the North (Jan-1917)
3) The Rulers of the Lakes ()
4) The Masters of the Peaks; A Story of the Great North Woods (Jan-1918)
5) The Lords of the Wild (Jul-1919)
5) The Lords of the Wild: A Story of the Old New York Border (Jul-1919)
6) The Sun of Quebec (Oct-1919)

The Gold Series

1) The Rainbow of Gold (1898)
2) The Hidden Mine (1896)

The Great West

1) The Great Sioux Trail (Jan-1918)
2) The Lost Hunters (Jan-1902)

The Texan

1) The Texan Star, the Story of a Great Fight of Liberty (Jan-1912)
2) The Texan Scouts, the Story of the Alamo and Goliad (Jan-1913)
3) The Texan Triumph, a Romance of the San Jacinto Campaigh (Jun-1913)

The World War Series

1) The Guns of Europe (Jan-1915)
2) The Forest of Swords (Jun-1915)
3) The Hosts of the Air (Oct-1915)

The Young Trailers

1) The Young Trailers (Jan-1907)
2) The Forest Runners (Jan-1908)
3) The Keepers of the Trail (Jan-1916)
4) Eyes of the Woods (Jan-1917)
5) The Free Rangers (Jan-1909)
6) The Riflemen of the Ohio (Jan-1910)
7) The Scouts of the Valley (Jan-1911)
8) The Border Watch (Jan-1912)