Iron Lake
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    August 1998
  • Latest Book:
    August 2022
  • Genres:
    Law Enforcement
  • Setting:
    Aurora, Minnesota
  • Characters:
    Cork O'Connor, sheriff
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

The Cork O'Connor Series in Order (19 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4
2 5
3 5
4 5
5 4
6 5
7 5
8 4
9 5

10 5
11 5
12 5
13 5
14 5
15 5
16 4
17 5
18 5
19 5

Book Descriptions for series: A Cork O'Connor Mystery

  • Book - 1

    Chicago cop Cork O'Connor and his lawyer-wife Jo moved back to his northern Minnesota hometown of Aurora to improve their quality of life, but it hasn't worked. Cork became the local sheriff, but lost an election after a disagreement between local In...

  • Book - 2

    The Quetico-Superior Wilderness: more than two million acres of forest, white-water rapids, and uncharted islands on the Canadian/American border. Somewhere in the heart of this unforgiving territory, a young woman named Shiloh -- a country-western s...

  • Book - 3

    Not far from the small town of Aurora (population 3,752) lies an ancient two-hundred-acre expanse of great white pines, sacred to the Anishinaabe and known to them as Minishoomisag (Our Grandfathers). Wealthy industrialist Karl Lindstrom does not ...

  • Book - 4

    Winner of the Loft-McKnight Fiction Award and the Anthony Award for Best First Novel, William Kent Krueger is a wholly original talent among mystery writers, managing to fuse inspired, fluid storytelling with complex, finely textured characterization...

  • Book - 5

    Back on the beat as sheriff of Tamarack County, Cork O'Connor has already seen his beautiful Northwoods jurisdiction through an eventful summer. Now, as the chill of autumn sweeps through the countryside, he's about to face a season of murder, adulte...

  • Book - 6

    In well-crafted settings that are beautiful and unforgiving, with unforgettable characters and jaw-dropping surprises, William Kent Krueger's Cork O'Connor thrillers have drawn a flood of awards and praise. The latest in the series finds the sheriff ...

  • Book - 7

    The promise, as I remember it, happened this way. Happy and content in his hometown of Aurora, Minnesota, Cork O'Connor has left his badge behind and is ready for a life of relative peace, setting up shop as a private investigator. But his newfoun...

  • Book - 8

    The newest book in William Kent Krueger's award-winning Corcoran O'Connor series finds the charismatic private investigator caught in the middle of a racial gang war that's turning picturesque Tamarack County, Minnesota, into a bloody battlefield. ...

  • Book - 9

    When a charter plane carrying Cork O'Connor's wife, Jo, goes missing in a snowstorm over the Wyoming Rockies, Cork must accept the terrible truth that his wife is gone forever. But is she? In Heaven's Keep, celebrated author William Kent Krueger puts...

  • Book - 10

    Some nights, Corcoran OConnor dreams his fathers death.William Kent Kruegers gripping tale of suspense begins with a recurring nightmare, a gun, and a wound in the earth so deep and horrific that it has a name: Vermilion Drift. When the Department of...

  • Book - 11

    With his family caught in the crosshairs of a group of brutal killers, detective Cork O'Connor must solve the murder of a young girl in the latest installment of William Kent Krueger's unforgettable New York Times bestselling series. During a hous...

  • Book - 12

    The dying don’t easily become the dead. The next novel in William Kent Krueger’s New York Times bestselling series finds Cork O’Connor sitting in the shadow of a towering monolith known as Trickster’s Point, deep in the Minnesota wildernes...

  • Book - 13

    “Like many men and women who’ve worn a badge for a good part of their lives, Corcoran Liam O’Connor was cursed. Twice cursed, in reality. Cursed with memory and cursed with imagination.” Tamarack County, Minnesota, the gateway to the pris...

  • Book - 14

    Cork O’Connor battles vicious villains, both mythical and modern, to rescue a young girl in this riveting mystery from New York Times bestselling, Edgar Award-winning author William Kent Krueger. When the body of a teenage Ojibwe girl washes up ...

  • Book - 15

    The lives of hundreds of innocent people are at stake when Cork vanishes just days before his daughter’s wedding. Since the violent deaths of his wife, father, and best friend all occurred in previous Novembers, Cork O’Connor has always consid...

  • Book - 16

    In William Kent Krueger’s latest pulse-pounding thriller, Cork O’Connor’s search for a missing man in the Arizona desert puts him at the center of a violent power struggle along the Mexican border, a struggle that might cost Cork everything and...

  • Book - 17

    New York Times bestselling author William Kent Krueger delivers yet another “punch-to-the-gut blend of detective story and investigative fiction” (Booklist, starred review) as Cork O’Connor and his son Stephen work together to uncover the truth...

  • Book - 18

    The author of the instant New York Times best seller This Tender Land returns with a powerful prequel to his acclaimed Cork O’Connor series - a book about fathers and sons, long-simmering conflicts in a small Minnesota town, and the events that ech...

  • Book - 19

    The latest in the New York Times bestselling Cork O’Connor Mystery Series from the “master storyteller” (Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author) follows Cork in a race against time to save his wife, a mysterious stranger, and an O...


Blood Hollow
2005 Anthony Award -- Novel
Copper River
2007 Minnesota Book Award -- Fiction
Iron Lake
1999 Anthony Award -- First Novel
Mercy Falls
2006 Anthony Award -- Novel
Purgatory Ridge
2002 Minnesota Book Award -- Fiction
Tamarack County
2013 Northeastern Minnesota Book Award -- Fiction
2014 Minnesota Book Award -- Fiction
Thunder Bay
2008 Dilys Award -- Mystery Novel

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 19 books in the Cork O'Connor series.

The Cork O'Connor series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Fox Creek (Book 19), was published in August 2022.

The first book in the Cork O'Connor series, Iron Lake, was published in August 1998.

The Cork O'Connor series primarily falls into the Law Enforcement genre.