Cast in Shadow
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    August 2005
  • Latest Book:
    December 2022
  • Genres:
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

The Chronicles of Elantra Series in Order (18 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 5
2 5
3 4.5
4 5
5 5
6 5
7 (ss) 3.5
8 5
9 5

10 4
11 5
12 5
13 5
14 5
15 5
16 5
17 5
18 5

Book Descriptions for series: The Chronicles of Elantra

  • Book - 1

    Seven years ago Kaylin fled the crime-riddled streets of Nightshade, knowing that something was after her. Children were being murdered -- and all had the same odd markings that mysteriously appeared on her own skin.... Since then, she's learned t...

  • Book - 2

    NO GOOD DEED GOES UNPUNISHED... In Elantra, a job well done is rewarded with a more dangerous task. And so, after defeating a dark evil, Kaylin must enter a place of deceit and treachery. A world where silk and jewels hide deadly secrets.... Ka...

  • Book - 3

    STOLEN GOODS WERE SO MUCH EASIER... Still avoiding magic whenever possible, Corporal Kaylin Neya relished investigating a regular theft once again. Until she found out the mysterious box was taken from Elani Street, where the mages and charlatans ...

  • Book - 4

    When a minority race of telepaths is suspected of causing a near-devastating tidal wave, Private Kaylin Neya is summoned to Court--and into a PR nightmare. To ease racial tensions, the emperor has commissioned a play, and the playwright has his own i...

  • Book - 5

    A member of the elite Hawk force that protects the City of Elantra, Kaylin Neya has sacrificed much to earn the respect of the winged Aerians and immortal Barrani she works alongside. But the mean streets she escaped as a child aren't the ones she's ...

  • Book - 6

    Kaylin Neya is a Hawk, part of the elite force tasked with keeping the City of Elantra safe. Her past is dark, her magic uncontrolled and her allies unpredictable. And nothing has prepared her for what is coming, when the charlatans on Elani Street s...

  • Book - 7

    Barely a teenager, Kaylin Neya is a thief, a fugitive and an attempted assassin. She also has a smart mouth, sharp wits and mysterious markings on her skin. All of which make her perfect bait for a child prostitution sting in the city of Elantra -- i...

  • Book - 8

    Seven corpses are discovered in the streets of a Dragon's fief. All identical, down to their clothing. Kaylin Neya is assigned to discover who they were, who killed them -- and why. Is the evil lurking at the borders of Elantra preparing to cross ...

  • Book - 9

    USUALLY DISASTER DIDN'T STRIKE QUITE SO CLOSE TO HOME… It has been a busy few weeks for Private Kaylin Neya. In between angling for a promotion, sharing her room with the last living female Dragon and dealing with more refugees than anyone knew ...

  • Book - 10

    THE END OF HER JOURNEY IS ONLY THE BEGINNING… The Barrani would be happy to see her die. So Kaylin Neya is a bit surprised by her safe arrival in the West March. Especially when enemies new and old surround her and those she would call friends...

  • Book - 11

    Any day that starts with dragon arguments is going to be bad Kaylin returned from the West March in one piece. Now that piece is fraying. She's not at home in the Imperial Palace -- and she never intends to be. All she wants is normal garden-vari...

  • Book - 12

    In the aftermath of a vicious battle between darkness and light, the city of Elantra has emerged victorious. But Shadows continue to haunt every corner of its streets… Elantra stands strong, but countless numbers of Hawks, the city's staunchest...

  • Book - 13

    New York Times bestselling author Michelle Sagara returns to the city of Elantra with a thrilling tale rife with ancient magic, assassination attempts and political intrigue. Private Kaylin Neya already has Dragons and Barrani as roommates. Addin...

  • Book - 14

    WITH FRIENDS LIKE THESE, WHO NEEDS ENEMIES? Private Kaylin Neya thought her home couldn’t possibly get more crowded. But when one of her housemates, Annarion, decides to undertake the Barrani Test of Name, his friends refuse to let him face his ...

  • Book - 15

    POLITICS ARE HELL Kaylin wasn’t sent to the West March to start a war. Her mission to bring back nine Barrani might do just that, though. She traveled with a Dragon, and her presence is perceived as an act of aggression in the extremely hostile ...

  • Book - 16

    SOMETHING IS WAKING The fiefs that exist at the heart of the city of Elantra are home to sentient Towers that guard the world against the incursion of Shadow. But between the fiefs exists the gray world of the border zone. In it, geography changes...

  • Book - 17

    KEEP YOUR FRIENDS CLOSE, AND YOUR ENEMIES CLOSER A Dragon and ten Barrani wouldn’t be anyone’s ideal roommates if a person wants peace and tranquility at home. The residue of three Draco-Barrani wars can make things pretty awkward -- on a good...

  • Book - 18

    Dead men tell no tales When Corporal Kaylin Neya is assigned front desk duty -- a task hated by every Hawk -- the only thing she can look forward to besides an endless stream of complaints is visits from a dotty old woman, because she always bring...


Cast in Sorrow
2013 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- Fantasy Adventure

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 18 books in The Chronicles of Elantra series.

The Chronicles of Elantra series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Cast in Eternity (Book 18), was published in December 2022.

The first book in The Chronicles of Elantra series, Cast in Shadow, was published in August 2005.

The Chronicles of Elantra series primarily falls into the Fantasy genre.