Author Information
Shel Silverstein's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    16 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1963
  • Latest Book:
    March 2024
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 16 titles

  • Shel Silverstein's first children's book, Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back -- a whimsical tale of self-discovery and marshmallows -- is turning fifty with a return to the vintage full-color cover.

    Is a famous, successful, and admired lion a...

  • From Shel Silverstein, the New York Times bestselling author of Where the Sidewalk Ends and The Giving Tree, comes a riotous rhyming picture book about a boy and his giraffe! Featuring rhythmic verse and iconic illustrations, A Giraffe and a Half wil...

  • Shel Silverstein, the New York Times bestselling author of The Giving Tree, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, and Every Thing On It, has created a poetry collection that is outrageously funny and deeply profound. Come in . . . for where the sidew...

  • From Shel Silverstein, the celebrated author of The Giving Tree and Where the Sidewalk Ends, comes The Missing Piece, a charming fable that gently probes the nature of quest and fulfillment.

    It was missing a piece. And it was not happy. What...

  • This collection of Silverstein's startling, irreverent, and provocative cartoons satirizes the social absurdities and calamities of the adult world, covering the misalliances, misconceptions, and misdemeanors of contemporary life...

  • From Shel Silverstein, the celebrated author of The Giving Tree and Where the Sidewalk Ends, comes The Missing Piece Meets the Big O, sure to delight fans of all ages with Silverstein’s iconic drawings and humor.

    This companion tale to The...

  • Uncle Shelby's ABZ Book is a primer for adults only. Described as the classic "you won't want your children to read," it covers the alphabet in a strange and twisted way. Shel Silverstein's creation is sure to keep you laughin...

  • Sixteen stories about love gone wrong consider the link between romance and death and include contributions by such popular authors as Mary Higgins Clark, Jonathan Kellerman, Elmore Leonard, Ed McBain, and Joyce Carol Oates. Reprint....

  • An evocative parable, The Giving Tree-the story of a lifelong relationship between a boy and the tree who happily responds to the boy's every need -is retold in Latin in Arbor alma. This edition features the original artwork of Shel Silverstein and a...

  • Shel Silverstein Who wants a cheap Rhinoceros? Looking for a new pet? Bored with cats, dogs, goldfish, gerbils, and hamsters? How about a cheap rhinoceros? Shel Silverstein's loving look at the joys of rhino ownership may convince yo...

  • From the legendary creator of Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, Falling Up, and The Giving Tree comes an unforgettable new character in children's literature: Runny Babbit.

    Runny Babbit is Shel Silverstein's hilarious and Ne...

    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    From New York Times bestselling author Shel Silverstein, the creator of the classics Where the Sidewalk Ends, A Light in the Attic, and Every Thing On It, comes a wondrous book of poems and drawings.

    This special edition contains 12 never-b...

    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    As The Giving Tree turns fifty, this timeless classic is available for the first time ever in ebook format. This digital edition allows young readers and lifelong fans to continue the legacy and love of a classic that will now reach an even wider aud...

Award-Winning Books by Shel Silverstein

Runny Babbit
2005 Parents Choice Award (Spring) (1998-2007) -- Recommended
2005 Quill Award -- Children's Illustrated
2008 Garden State Children's Book Award -- Children's Nonfiction

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Shel Silverstein has published 16 books.

Shel Silverstein does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Runny Babbit and Runny Babbit Returns, was published in March 2024.

The first book by Shel Silverstein, Lafcadio, the Lion Who Shot Back, was published in January 1963.

No. Shel Silverstein does not write books in series.