Author Information
Matt Coyle's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    12 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    May 2013
  • Latest Book:
    November 2023
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

Rick Cahill

1 - Yesterday's Echo (May-2013)
2 - Night Tremors (Jun-2015)
3 - Dark Fissures (Nov-2017)
4 - Blood Truth (Dec-2017)
5 - Wrong Light (Dec-2018)
6 - Lost Tomorrows (Jan-2019)
7 - Blind Vigil (Jan-2020)
8 - Last Redemption (Jan-2021)
9 - Doomed Legacy (Nov-2022)

Book List in Order: 12 titles

  • Winner of the Anthony Award for Best First NovelA dishonored ex-cop's desperate chance for redemption While never convicted of his wife's murder, Rick was never exonerated either. Not by the police. Not by the media. Not even by himself. Eight years ...

  • Anthony, Shamus, and Lefty Award Finalist Powerful forces on each side of the law have Rick Cahill in the crosshairs Nightmares of the man he killed two years ago still chase Rick Cahill through his sleep. The memory of his murdered wife haunts him d...

  • The misdeeds and downfalls of characters drawn to the cultural panoply that is Los Angeles…The sun-kissed city of high hopes and second chances, where everyone seems to be from somewhere else. A siren’s call to dreamers, misfits, mystics and frea...

  • Finalist for the Macavity and Lefty AwardWhen bill collectors come calling, Rick Cahill desperately needs workPrivate Investigator Rick Cahill fears the next knock on his door will be a cop holding a warrant for his arrest. For murder. La Jolla Chief...

  • Lefty Award finalist and a top pick by Bookreporter for Best Mysteries of 2017Rick Cahill can't escape his past -- or his father's Rick Cahill has long feared the truth about his own blood -- the blood of his father coursing through his veins. When a...

  • Shamus Award, Lefty Award, and San Diego Book Award finalistPerfect for hard-boiled PI and Noir fans who like a tainted hero living by his own code Naomi Hendrix's sexy voice hovering over the radio waves isn't the only thing haunting the Southern Ca...

  • Winner of the Shamus Award and Lefty AwardWould you risk your own soul to avenge the death of a loved one? A phone call thrusts Rick Cahill's past and all its tragic consequences into his present. Krista Landingham, his former partner on the Santa Ba...

  • San Diego Writer's Festival Mystery Writer of the Year for 2021 Winner of the Shamus Award and nominated for Macavity, Barry, and Lefty Awards A friend arrested for murder. A vicious killer lurking in the shadows. A world of darkness. Blinded by a g...

  • San Diego Writer's Festival Mystery Writer of the Year for 2021Anthony, Shamus, and Lefty Award-winning AuthorWill Rick Cahill survive an insidious disease long enough to see his first-born child -- or will sadistic killers murder him first? Rick Cah...

  • Foreword INDIES Bronze Award in Thriller and SuspenseA sinister private detective agency, a shady shell corporation, and a dead friend -- Rick Cahill is on his most dangerous mission yet Private investigator Rick Cahill has been running from his past...

  • Southern California. Home to sandy beaches, waving palm trees, balmy weather. Also home to the rich and famous, those barely hanging on, and everyone else. Add in murder, embezzlement, stalking, burglary, and every crime under the sun. In Crime Under...

  • Brain disease worsening, Rick Cahill risks everything -- even his life -- to provide for his fractured family's future San Diego private investigator Rick Cahill's past comes back to haunt him when he's at his most vulnerable. His wife, Leah, has fle...

Award-Winning Books by Matt Coyle

Blind Vigil
2021 Shamus Award -- P.I. Novel
Lost Tomorrows
2020 Shamus Award -- P.I. Novel
Yesterday's Echo
2014 Anthony Award -- First Novel
2014 San Diego Book Award -- Mystery

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Matt Coyle has published 12 books.

Matt Coyle does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Odyssey's End, was published in November 2023.

The first book by Matt Coyle, Yesterday's Echo, was published in May 2013.

Yes. Matt Coyle has 1 series.