Author Information
Martha Freeman's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    33 Books - 4 Series
  • First Book:
    October 1996
  • Latest Book:
    January 2023
  • Rating:

Full Series List in Order

A Chickadee Court Mystery

1 - Who Is Stealing the Twelve Days of Christmas? (Oct-2003)
2 - Who Stole Halloween? (Oct-2005)
3 - Who Stole Uncle Sam? (Aug-2008)
4 - Who Stole Grandma's Million-Dollar Pumpkin Pie? (Oct-2009)
5 - Who Stole New Year's Eve? (Sep-2013)

A First Kids Mystery

1 - The Case of the Rock 'n' Roll Dog (Aug-2010)
2 - The Case of the Diamond Dog Collar (Aug-2011)
3 - The Case of the Ruby Slippers (Apr-2012)
4 - The Case of the Piggy Bank Thief (Sep-2012)
5 - The Case of the Missing Dinosaur Egg (Feb-2013)
6 - The Case of the Bug on the Run (Sep-2013)

The Secret Cookie Club

1 - The Secret Cookie Club (May-2015)
2 - Campfire Cookies (May-2016)
3 - P.S. Send More Cookies (May-2017)

Trouble

1 - The Trouble with Cats (Mar-2000)
2 - The Trouble with Babies (Apr-2002)
3 - The Trouble with Twins (Oct-2007)

Book List in Order: 33 titles


  • When his eccentric mother begins yet another small business, creating scented marbles for the Cinnamon Seminars, twelve-year-old Rory Mudd concentrates on caring for his pets, until an accident makes him think the smelly marbles might be useful....



  • Kate Sommers is stunned when her parents announce that the family is moving from sunny California to Belletoona, Pennsylvania. Kate can't bear leaving her friends, her cool surfer boyfriend, and the beach. But maybe, just maybe, Belletoona won't be s...



  • When her prim and proper grandmother shows up with a boisterous new husband, ten-year-old Molly and her mother really dislike him, but after a series of confrontations, they learn to see both him and themselves in a new light...




  • She claims her name is Varloo and that she is a spy from an underground world called Hek.... She says she has been sent to report what the people on the surface are up to, especially anything that might threaten her world below...But Varloo doesn't s...



  • Dexter is like a square peg in a round hole: he just can’t fit in. All the kids in his class enjoy the zany things their teacher Mr. Ditzwinkle does to make learning fun. All except Dexter, the weirdo who prefers the same routine. But when things s...




  • Every Christmas since Alex can remember, his family and neighbors have filled their front yards with decorations from each of the twelve days mentioned in the song ""The Twelve Days of Chirstmas."" But this year someone is stealing them one by one. A...



  • Alex and Yasmeen, the sleuths of Chickadee Court, are back in action, this time on the trail of a serial catnapper. Halloween is the first cat to go missing, stolen right from her bed on the front porch in the middle of the night. One by one, more ca...






  • When a cow unexpectedly shows up on Mrs. Wow’s lawn, her lazy dog and cat think they should teach her their chores, so they can rest. They find out that the cow is no good at catching mice or being a watchdog. But Mrs. Wow knows something the cow c...




  • Holly's identical twin brothers, Jeremy and Dylan, are about to turn three. They are adorable; but because of them, everyone else in the household is exhausted and stressed out, even the four cats. When Holly volunteers to throw the twins a birthday ...



  • Two eleven-year-old sleuths crack a case about the disappearance of a baseball coach in this humourous and offbeat middle-grade mystery, third in Martha Freeman's popular series. After their last success, Alex and Yasmeen made a pact to stop solving ...



  • Eleven-year-old sleuths Alex Parakeet and his best friend, Yasmeen, are on a new case--a yummy one. The only copy of a valuable recipe has disappeared from the Parakeet kitchen days before Alex's father is scheduled to appear on a TV cooking show. Si...



  • Daughters of the first female president of the United States solve a White House mystery with the help of their dog. ...



  • No one would actually send real diamonds to a dog, would they? Now that one of the gems is missing, first kids Cammie and Tessa Parks are no longer so sure that the big, fat diamonds on Hooligan's new collar are imitations. But how can they know for ...



  • Aunt Jen, the official White House hostess, is being thrown a surprise party with a Wizard of Oz theme, but when a box arrives from the Smithsonian, the slippers that Judy Garland wore in the movie aren't in it! Never fear, First Kids Cammie and Tess...



  • Although a stolen piggy bank is normally no big deal, this particular bank belongs to seven-year-old Tessa, whose mother is the president of the United States. When her eleven-year-old sister, Cammie, finds out that the piggy also held an old coin th...



  • A week before the annual Easter Egg Roll on the White House lawn, First Kids Cammie, Tessa, daughters of the first female president, and their cousin Nate attend the opening of a new dinosaur exhibit at the National Museum of Natural History. As the ...






  • On a visit to the National Zoo, First Kids Cammie and Tessa find themselves taking home an unwanted Madagascan hissing cockroach. They name her Maddie, but before long Maddie goes missing! Once she is returned, the FBI realizes that the bug has been ...



  • Between Christmas and New Year's Eve, College Springs has a winter carnival, complete with ice sculptures; however, this year someone has stolen all thirty-seven of them, including one on Chickadee Court. Unfortunately, the twelve-year-old sleuths, Y...



  • Set in 1949 and taking inspiration from E. B. White’s Stuart Little, this novel about a 10-year-old orphan named Caro and a mouse who join forces to expose baby-napping criminals and make the orphanage a safe haven for mice reads like a classic....



  • Friends make everything better -- and so do cookies! -- in this warm-hearted novel in the tradition of Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, with a middle grade dash of sugar and spice. Recipe for friendship: mix four very different girls, one boy, a...



  • Strudel, a homeless dachshund, loves listening to Jake read from "Chief, Dog of the Old West" at the animal shelter. When Jake decides to adopt him, Strudel vows to be as brave and loyal as Chief. Only trying to fend off danger in his new home leads ...



  • The girls from Flowerpot Cabin are back at camp in Martha Freeman’s second novel in the Secret Cookie Club series, which was called “a younger version of Ann Brashares’s The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants” by School Library Journal. Rec...



  • After being shipped off to stay with her aunt and uncle in Nowheresville, Pennsylvania, city girl Effie Starr Zook stumbles upon a mystery that leads her to an old family feud. A rich girl from New York City, Effie Starr Zook isn’t afraid of muc...



  • The girls from Flowerpot Cabin learn that there are two things they can count on in life -- friendship and cookies -- in Martha Freeman’s third novel in the Secret Cookie Club series, which was called “a younger version of Ann Brashares’s The S...



  • Eleven-year-old Luis is left looking for answers after a city-wide blackout leads him to an electrifying mystery in this edge-of-your-seat thriller from Martha Freeman. Luis Cardenal is toasting a Pop-Tart when a power outage strikes Hampton, New ...



  • “If you’re going to a march, you’re going to want a sign” -- and this inspiring handbook, which introduces children to the world of action and activism. As more and more children attend the growing number of marches across the country, t...






  • Prepare to laugh out loud at the antics of Goldilocks and The Three Bears in this illustrated chapter book for lovers of snarky humor and fractured fairy tales."So I ate some porridge and broke a chair--get over it!" Goldilocks snipes at Bobby Bear, ...



  • "It''s not the big bad wolf that stops Little Red Hoodie from getting to grandma''s house in this rollicking take on the fairy tale--Red can''t follow directions! ""Follow Magic Wand Lane to Glass Slipper Boulevard, right on Beanstalk, left on Breadc...



  • “Will make a theater lover of any young reader.” —Booklist​​Perfect for fans of The Wednesday Wars, this raucous and delightful middle grade mystery from Edgar Award–nominated author Martha Freeman is filled with backstage fun, relatable ...



  • From Edgar Award–nominated author Martha Freeman comes a compelling middle grade mystery following a young boy working at his family’s secondhand store that is a steal-your-heart story about family and friendship.Arthur Popper helps out in his fa...


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Martha Freeman has published 33 books.

The next book by Martha Freeman, Trashed!, will be published in January 2023.

The first book by Martha Freeman, Stink Bomb Mom, was published in October 1996.

Yes. Martha Freeman has 4 series.