Author Information
Markus Zusak's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    8 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1999
  • Latest Book:
    September 2021
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Markus Zusak is an Australian author. He is best known for his books The Book Thief and The Messenger (published in USA as I Am the Messenger), which have been international bestsellers. His first three books, The Underdog, Fighting Ruben Wolfe and When Dogs Cry, released between 1999 and 2001, were all published internationally and garnered a number of awards. The Underdog, his 1st book, took seven years to publish. The Messenger, published in 2002, won the 2003 CBC Book of the Year Award (Older Readers) and the 2003 NSW Premier's Literary Award (Ethel Turner Prize), as well as receiving a Printz Honour in America.
In 2005, The Book Thief was released and is now translated into over 30 languages. As well as receiving awards in Australia and overseas, The Book Thief has held the number one position at, the New York Times bestseller list, as well as in Brazil, Ireland and Taiwan. It has been in the top five in the UK, Spain, Israel and South Korea, and is still set to be released in many other territories.
He lives in Sydney with his wife and daughter,

Book List in Order: 8 titles

    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    Boys are like dogs - ready to bite, bark and beg to be given a chance to show their value.

    "I vowed that if I ever got a girl I would treat her right and never be bad or dirty to her or hurt her, ever."

    Cameron Wolfe is a dirty boy. He...

  • FIGHT CLUB meets THE OUTSIDERS in this knockout debut, written in a voice both fierce and sensitive.

    The working class family of Cameron Wolfe and his brother Ruben isn't having much luck these days. Their dad has just lost his job and is too ...

  • Cameron Wolfe, wants a girlfriend. He wants sex. He wants to separate himself from his brothers' shadow. He wants to find himself and be something more than the underdog in the family. And he doesn't know how to go about getting what he wants. He is ...

  • protect the diamonds survive the clubs dig deep through the spades feel the hearts Ed Kennedy is an underage cabdriver without much of a future. He's pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devoted to ...

  • It is 1939 Nazi Germany. The country is holding its breath. Death has never been busier, and will become busier still. By her brother's graveside, Liesel Meminger's life is changed when she picks up a single object, partially hidden in the snow. It ...

  • The breathtaking story of five brothers who bring each other up in a world run by their own rules. As the Dunbar boys love and fight and learn to reckon with the adult world, they discover the moving secret behind their father’s disappearance. ...

Award-Winning Books by Markus Zusak

The Book Thief
2006 National Jewish Book Award -- Children/Young Adult
2006 Parents Choice Award (Spring) (1998-2007) -- Gold
2007 Book Sense Book of the Year Award -- Children's Literature
2007 Sydney Taylor Book Award -- Teen
2009 Garden State Teen Book Award -- Fiction (Grades 9-12)

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Markus Zusak has published 8 books.

Markus Zusak does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, When Dogs Cry, was published in September 2021.

The first book by Markus Zusak, The Underdog, was published in January 1999.

No. Markus Zusak does not write books in series.