Author Information
Kelly Starling Lyons's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    29 Books (3 Series)
  • First Book:
    October 2004
  • Latest Book:
    February 2025
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

Jada Jones

1 - Rock Star (Sep-2017)
2 - Class Act (Sep-2017)
3 - Sleepover Scientist (Jan-2019)
4 - Dancing Queen (Jun-2019)
5 - Sky Watcher (Nov-2021)
6 - Nature Lover (Apr-2022)

Miles Lewis

1 - King of the Ice (Jul-2022)
2 - Whiz Kid (Jul-2022)
3 - Matchmaker (Jan-2023)

Ty's Travels

1 - All Aboard! (Sep-2020)
2 - Zip, Zoom! (Sep-2020)
3 - Beach Day! (May-2021)
4 - Lab Magic (Jan-2022)

Book List in Order: 29 titles





  • On October 16, 1995, Black men of all ages, religions and backgrounds gathered at the Lincoln Memorial in Washington, D.C. They were there on a mission - to mobilize and motivate, as part of what would become the largest event of its kind in U.S. his...



  • A young girl learns a new meaning for freedom during the time of Reconstruction Ellen always knew the broom resting above the hearth was special. Before it was legal for her mother and father to officially be married, the broom was what made them...



  • A young boy helps his beloved grandmother remember an important family story Tosh loves listening to Grandma Honey tell family stories. His favorite is about the special tea cakes that smell like vanilla and sunshine. They were great-great-great-g...



  • A poignant story celebrating the 150th anniversary of the Emancipation Proclamation It’s 1862 and the Civil War has turned out to be a long, deadly conflict. Hope’s father can’t stand the waiting a minute longer and decides to join the Unio...



  • It's a hip-hopping, foot-stomping, hand-clapping, finger-snapping good time when the dinosaurs go out on the dance floor! One by one (and all the way up to ten), the dinosaurs get their groove on in this delightful counting book! With bright and colo...



  • Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy rooting for Jada Jones as she runs for student council in this easy-to-read chapter book. As a candidate for class representative, Jada is ready to give the campaign her all. But when rumors start...



  • Fans of Princess Posey and Ivy and Bean will enjoy engaging with science-loving Jada Jones in this easy-to-read chapter book. When Jada Jones's best friend moves away, school feels like the last place she wants to be. She'd much rather wander outs...



  • Jada Jones is back for the third book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans! Jada is hosting her first sleepover, and she has lots of cool scientific activities planned: kitchen chemistry, creating invisible ink, and even making...






  • "On reunion morning, we rise before the sun. Daddy hums as he packs our car with suitcases and a cooler full of snacks. He says there’s nothing like going down home.” Down home is Granny’s house. Down home is where Lil’ Alan and his pa...



  • When the student council decides to host a dance as their next fundraiser, Jada feels nervous and queasy. She's excited to give back, but she can't dance! Still, she's determined to help the cause and show she cares. She practices her mov...



  • Just in time for the 120th anniversary of the song "Lift Every Voice and Sing"--this stirring book celebrates the Black National Anthem and how it inspired five generations of a family. Sing a song full of the faith that the dark past has ...



  • 2021 Christopher Award - Books for Young PeopleWSRA Children's Literature: Picture This 2021 Recommendation ListPenn GSE Graduate School of Education, The Best Books for Young Readers of 2020Black Caucus of the American Library Association BCALA, 202...



  • Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: All Aboard!, a My First I Can Read series by acclaimed author and illustrator team Kelly Starling Lyons and Nina Mata. Family time and imagination and play are highlighted in this fun story, ...



  • Ty can’t wait to ride his brand-new scooter at the park. Other kids zip and zoom by like race cars, but all Ty can do is wobble! Ty wants to give up, but a new friend helps Ty give it another try. Celebrate imagination and the power of persisten...



  • Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: Beach Day!, a My First I Can Read book by acclaimed author and illustrator team Kelly Starling Lyons and Nina Mata. Friendship and imagination and play are highlighted in this fun story, perf...



  • Jada Jones is back for the fifth book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans!"Readers who love Ivy and Bean or Katie Woo will want to meet Jada Jones." --School Library JournalJada is excited to do a school project about her hero Dr...



  • Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: Lab Magic, a My First I Can Read book by acclaimed author and illustrator team Kelly Starling Lyons and Nina Mata. Science exploration, imagination, and play are highlighted in this fun story...



  • Jada Jones is back for the sixth book of this popular, celebrated series perfect for STEM fans!"Readers who love Ivy and Bean or Katie Woo will want to meet Jada Jones." --School Library JournalJada is thrilled when she gets to go on an outdoor class...






  • A little girl, baking bread with her grandmother, becomes transported by the tales her grandmother’s hands tell—those that spring from the rose-painted nails, a flower-banded wedding ring, and the way her fingers move and glide. These han...



  • From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!Miles Lewis loves science and sports. But when his teacher announces a class field trip to an ice skating rink to learn about phys...



  • From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!Miles Lewis has been waiting forever to be part of a city-wide science competition. Now his dream is finally coming true, and he's...



  • A Geisel Honor-winning series! Author Kelly Starling Lyons selected as the 2021 Piedmont Laureate! Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: Winter Wonderland, a My First I Can Read book by acclaimed author and illustrator team Kelly Sta...



  • From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!Valentine's Day is approaching, and Miles Lewis doesn't really like all the mush that comes with it. He is excited about the candy...



  • Ty makes his I Can Read Comic debut! Featuring a bold comic styling by New York Times bestselling illustrator Niña Mata and a compelling easy-to-read text by Kelly Starling Lyons, this Level One I Can Read Comic is the perfect summertime story ...



  • “El ritmo rápido, vocabulario sencillo y un toque de ciencias de la tierra despiertan el interés de los jóvenes coleccionistas de rocas en todas partes”. " Kirkus "A los lectores que adoran a Ivy y Bean o a Katie Woo les encantará cono...



  • From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spinoff series perfect for STEM fans!The annual Fun Run is coming up at Brookside Elementary! The students will all run laps around the carpool lane, and Miles Lewis w...



  • Ty rocks out with friends in this new book in the Geisel Honor-winning series! Join Ty on his imaginative adventures in Ty's Travels: Showtime, a My First I Can Read story by acclaimed author and illustrator team Kelly Starling Lyons and Niña M...



  • From the award-winning author of the Jada Jones chapter books comes an illustrated spin-off series perfect for STEM fans!When Miles and his classmates welcome a few frogs as class pets, it's a reminder that what he really wants more than anything is ...





Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Kelly Starling Lyons has published 29 books.

The next book by Kelly Starling Lyons, Pet Sitter #5, will be published in February 2025.

The first book by Kelly Starling Lyons, Eddie's Ordeal, was published in October 2004.

Yes. Kelly Starling Lyons has 3 series.