Author Information
Kacen Callender's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    11 Books
  • First Book:
    October 2018
  • Latest Book:
    April 2025
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 11 titles



  • A fresh, charming rom-com perfect for fans of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda and Boy Meets Boy about Nathan Bird, who has sworn off happy endings but is sorely tested when his former best friend, Ollie, moves back to town. Nathan Bird doesn’t...



  • In a small but turbulent Louisiana town, one boy's grief takes him beyond the bayous of his backyard, to learn that there is no right way to be yourself. Twelve-year-old Kingston James is sure his brother Khalid has turned into a dragonfly. Wh...



  • From Stonewall and Lambda Award-winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time. Felix Love has never been in love -- and, yes,...



  • King of the Rising is the searing conclusion to an unflinching and powerful Caribbean-inspired fantasy series about colonialism, resilience, and defiance. A revolution has swept through the islands of Hans Lollik and former slave Loren Jannik ha...



  • No job, no money, no love - and to make things worse, 27-year-old Charlie has no choice but to leave New York City and move in with his mom in his isolated and conservative hometown of Sunset Springs.Home isn't a comfortable place for Charlie. One of...



  • Kacen Callender, National Book Award winner of King and the Dragonflies, delivers a stunning novel that invites readers into a child’s struggles with mental health, and their journey to wholeness. Moon’s depression is overwhelming. Therapy doesn...



  • From National Book Award"winner Kacen Callender, Lark & Kasim Start a Revolution is a contemporary YA that follows Lark’s journey to speak the truth and discover how their own self-love can be a revolution.  “A hilarious and bold love ...



  • From National Book Award winner Kacen Callender, a contemporary YA that follows Lark's journey to speak the truth and discover how their own self-love can be a revolution.Lark Winters wants to be a writer, and for now that means posting on their soci...



  • The National Book Award-winning author of Felix Ever After delivers a beautifully tender story of two grumpy/sunshine, fake-dating actors navigating their love story both on and offscreen -- perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and Alex...






  • AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES AND INDIE BESTSELLER!Infinity Alchemist is a spellbinding fantasy novel about a quest that leads three young alchemists toward dangerous truth, legendary love, and extraordinary power. With their signature "prowess" (FIYAH) ...



  • The explosive sequel to instant New York Times bestselling YA debut Infinity Alchemist by Kacen Callender.“Spellbinding.” -- Aiden Thomas · “Brims with possibility.” -- A. R. Carpetta · “A thrilling, expansive adventure.” -- Elana K....


Award-Winning Books by Kacen Callender

King and the Dragonflies
2020 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award -- Fiction & Poetry
2020 National Book Award -- Young People's Literature


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Kacen Callender has published 11 books.

The next book by Kacen Callender, Chaos King, will be published in April 2025.

The first book by Kacen Callender, This Is Kind of an Epic Love Story, was published in October 2018.

No. Kacen Callender does not write books in series.