Janice Kay Johnson

Janice Kay Johnson Baczewski graduated from Whitman College with a B.A. in history and then received a master's degree in library science from the University of Washington. She was a branch librarian for a public library system until she began selling her own writing. She is the author of sixty books for children and adults. Her first four published romance novels as Kay Kirby, were coauthored with her mother, Norma Tadlock Johnson, also a writer who has since published mysteries and children's books on her own. These were "sweet" romance novels, the author hastens to add; she isn't sure they'd have felt comfortable coauthoring passionate love scenes! She continued writing novels under the pennames of Janice Stevens, Janice Kay Johnson, Kay Bartlett, and Janice Bartlett. She loves writing novels about both love and family — about the way generations connect and the power our earliest experiences have on us throughout life. Her romances are frequent finalists for Romance Writers of America RITA® awards. She has written six novels for young adults and one picture book for the read-aloud crowd. Rosamund was the outgrowth of all those hours spent reading to her own daughters, and of her passion for growing old roses. Two more of her favorite books were historical novels she wrote for Tor/Forge. The research was pure indulgence for someone who set out intending to be a historian!

Janice Kay is divorced and has raised her two daughters in a small, rural town north of Seattle, Washington. She's an active volunteer and board member for Purrfect Pals, a no-kill cat shelter, and foster kittens often enliven a household that already includes a few more cats than she wants to admit to!

Book List in Order: 106 titles

Complete Series List in Order

3 Good Cops

1) His Partner's Wife (Jul-2001)
2) The Word of a Child (Sep-2001)
3) Maternal Instinct (Feb-2002)

A Brother's Word

1) Between Love and Duty (Feb-2012)
2) From Father to Son (Mar-2012)
3) The Call of Bravery (Apr-2012)

Brothers, Strangers

1) The Closer He Gets (Mar-2016)
2) The Baby He Wanted (May-2016)

A Cape Trouble Novel

1) Shroud of Fog (Jan-2014)
2) See How She Runs (Jan-2015)
3) Twisted Threads (Aug-2015)
4) Whisper of Revenge (Jun-2016)
5) Trigger Words (Feb-2017)

Lost... But Not Forgotten

1) Open Secret (Mar-2006)
2) Lost Cause (Jun-2006)
3) Kids By Christmas (Nov-2006)

The Mysteries of Angel Butte

1) Bringing Maddie Home (Nov-2013)
2) Everywhere She Goes (Jan-2014)
3) All a Man Is (Mar-2014)
4) Cop by Her Side (Jul-2014)
5) This Good Man (Sep-2014)

Patton's Daughters

1) The Woman in Blue (Aug-1999)
2) The Baby and the Badge (Sep-1999)
3) A Message for Abby (Oct-1999)
4) Promise Me Picket Fences (Sep-2000)

The Russell Twins

1) Charlotte's Homecoming (Jul-2010)
2) Through the Sheriff's Eyes (Aug-2010)

A Tompkin's Mill Novel

1) Turning Home (Oct-2020)
2) Mending Hearts (Mar-2021)
3) Finding Hope (Jul-2021)

Two Daughters

1) Yesterday's Gone (Aug-2015)
2) In Hope's Shadow (Oct-2015)

Under One Roof

1) Taking A Chance (Jul-2003)
2) The Perfect Mom (Sep-2003)
3) The New Man (Nov-2003)

Wakefield College

1) Where It May Lead (May-2013)
2) From This Day on (Aug-2013)

White Horse, Washington

1) Home Again (Aug-1993)
2) What She Wants for Christmas (Dec-1996)

Multi-Author Series List

9 Months Later

1) Her Sister's Baby (Jan-1995)
9) The Miracle Baby (Apr-1997)
46) With Child (May-2005)
53) First Comes Baby (Mar-2007)
63) The Baby Agenda (Dec-2010)

Count on a Cop

4) The Family Next Door (May-1998)
10) Jack Murray, Sheriff (May-2000)
23) Revelations (Sep-2004)
37) The Man Behind The Cop (May-2008)
47) Bone Deep (Mar-2011)
50) All That Remains (Oct-2011)

The Diamond Legacy

4) A Mother's Secret (Dec-2009)

Marriage of Inconvenience

6) Whose Baby? (Jan-2000)

Single Father

5) Mommy Said Goodbye // Their New Family (Apr-2004)

Suddenly a Parent

15) Match Made in Court (Mar-2010)
22) Finding Her Dad (Jun-2011)

An Unsolved Mystery Book

3) Cold Case Flashbacks (May-2021)

Women Who Dare

22) In the Dark of the Night (Jun-1995)

Award-Winning Books by Janice Kay Johnson

2008 Rita Award -- Contemporary Series Romance
With Child
2005 All About Romance Reader Award -- Best Series Novel