Author Information
Gloria Naylor's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    7 Books
  • First Book:
    July 1983
  • Latest Book:
    November 2006
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 7 titles

  • The National Book Award-winning novel -- and contemporary classic -- that launched the brilliant career of Gloria Naylor   “[A] shrewd and lyrical portrayal of many of the realities of black life . . . Miss Naylor bravely risks sentiment...

  • The National Book Awardâ€"winning author of The Women of Brewster Place explores the secrets of an affluent black community. For its wealthy African American residents, the exclusive neighborhood of Linden Hills is a symbol of “making it.” The ul...

  • A “wonderful novel” steeped in the folklore of the South from the New York Timesâ€"bestselling author of The Women of Brewster Place (The Washington Post Book World). On an island off the coast of Georgia, there’s a place where superstition is...

  • Welcome to Bailey's CafĂ©, where the food may not be much but the ambience is graced by myth and magic. The cafĂ© is home to Sadie, the ladylike alcoholic with a mania for cleanliness; to Sweet Esther, who caters to unspeakable appetites in a nearby ...

  • In 1969, Little, Brown and Company published The Best Short Stories by Black Writers, edited by Langston Hughes - the classic compendium of African-American short fiction from 1897 to 1967. Now, a quarter of a century later, Gloria Naylor has compile...

  • This fictionalized memoir of the award-winning author, Gloria Naylor, tells a story of a massive covert surveillance operation perpetrated against her by an official of the U.S. government....

Award-Winning Books by Gloria Naylor

The Women of Brewster Place
1983 National Book Award -- First Novel

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Gloria Naylor has published 7 books.

Gloria Naylor does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, 1996, was published in November 2006.

The first book by Gloria Naylor, The Women of Brewster Place, was published in July 1983.

No. Gloria Naylor does not write books in series.