Book List in Order: 18 titles


  • Caution: Babies at Work! These babies are busy building a wonderful playhouse in this bustling picture book for fans of Mighty, Mighty Construction Site. Wearing their hard hats, safety goggles, and work boots, a team of toddlers are busy building...



  • Walter loves his harmonica. It belonged to his grandma, and he can't wait to play her all the songs that he's learned. But when he lets Iris borrow it the night before his grandma comes to visit, something awful happens -- it gets lost! How will Ir...



  • Miss Cherry is out sick, and Iris's grandpa is the substitute teacher! Iris loves being the special helper on Grandpa's first day in the classroom. But when her teacher is absent again, Iris discovers that sharing Grandpa with everyone else in the cl...



  • In the vein of Eloise and Marley, here's an adorable tale of two well-intentioned rule breakers who show each other how friends deserve to be treated Bella knows her family's rules by heart, but she much prefers her own: Candy for breakfast, no ha...



  • Who’s my pumpkin, my pancake, my red jellybean? Who’s my cinnamon spice, my peaches and cream? Sweet and tasty text from Elissa Guest affectionately describes a loved one using a variety of food-themed petnames. Classic illustration...



  • Walter is so excited that his favorite cousin, Howie, is coming to visit. He is sure that Iris will like Howie as much as he does. But nine-year-old Howie has big plans . . . and none of them include Iris....



  • Walter loves his grandmother's harmonica. But when he lets Iris borrow it the night before his grandmother comes to visit, something awful happens--it disappears! How will Iris break the news to Walter?...



  • Iris cannot wait to have her first sleepover at her best friend Walter's house. They will put on a puppet show. They will ride Walter's horse, Rain, in their pajamas. They will stay up very, very late. But when it's time to go to sleep, Iris feels ho...



  • Iris and Walter can't wait for opening day of their first school play to open. Walter helps Iris make her costume. Iris helps Walter practice his lines. But when Iris wakes up on the morning of her debut, she's in for a big disappointment....







  • Iris thought that having a baby sister would be just like playing with a doll. But newborn Baby Rose is a crabby cake. She fusses and cries and wails so much that Iris decides she needs a new baby sister....



  • It's Walter's birthday and he has big plans for his party. There will be cake and ice cream and horseback riding, and all of his friends will be there--including, of course, his best friend, Iris. But when the big day finally arrives, something unexp...



  • "As engaging as ever."" - Publishers Weekly Sometimes it takes two friends to solve a problem. So when Iris announces that she really wants to ride the wild horse Rain, Walter comes up with the perfect plan to help her. And when Walter has a terribl...



  • Iris and Walter can't wait for their class field trip to the aquarium. They'll get to sit together on the bus and visit scary sharks, shimmery angelfish, and, best of all, penguins. The aquarium is everything they had hoped for--until suddenly, Walte...



  • Iris and Walter's teacher is out sick, and Iris's grandpa is the substitute! At first Iris is so excited to have Grandpa as the teacher. But she soon discovers that sharing her grandpa with the rest of the class isn't as much fun as she thought it wo...



  • Walter loves his grandmother's harmonica. But when he lets Iris borrow it the night before his grandmother comes to visit, something awful happens--it disappears! How will Iris break the news to Walter? Luckily, bestfriends are understanding. And luc...




  • There are four chapters of easy readingpleasure in this Level 3 Green Light Readeredition of the first book in the awardwinningfriendship series. This story findsIris hating her new neighborhood in thecountry until she discovers a treehouse...and may...




Complete Series List in Order

Iris and Walter

Iris and Walter (Oct-2000)
Iris and Walter and the Substitute Teacher (Sep-2004)
Iris and Walter and the Field Trip (Mar-2005)
Iris and Walter and Baby Rose (Mar-2006)
Iris and Walter and the Birthday Party (Mar-2006)
Iris and Walter: True Friends (Mar-2006)
Iris and Walter and Cousin Howie (Aug-2006)
Iris and Walter: Lost and Found (Aug-2006)
Iris and Walter: The Sleepover (Aug-2006)
School Play (Aug-2006)
Lost and Found (Aug-2014)
Substitute Teacher (Aug-2014)

Award-Winning Books by Elissa Haden Guest

Iris and Walter
2001 PEN Literary Award -- Children/Young Adult