Author Information
Bob Shacochis's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    6 Books
  • First Book:
    January 1985
  • Latest Book:
    September 2013
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Book List in Order: 6 titles

  • Winner of the National Book Award for First Fiction: “Beguiling stories . . . about an uncommonly fascinating part of the hemisphere” (Time).  Easy in the Islands is a “stunning” collection of stories by one of contemporar...

  • The “chameleon-like” ABA"winning author of Easy in the Islands offers a new collection of eight “surprising [and] memorable” short stories (Publishers Weekly).   The haunting stories in Shacochis’s second collection combine comic wit...

  • A vibrant portrait of love and politics in the tropics from the National Book Award"winning author: “the finest first novel I have read in many years” (William O’Rourke, Chicago Tribune).   Winner of the National Book Award for First Fic...

  • Bob Shacochis, author of the critically acclaimed novel The Woman Who Lost Her Soul, and National Book Award winning-author of such books as Swimming in the Volcano, Easy in the Islands, and The Next New World, hones his nonfiction skills in this tou...

  • Renowned through four award-winning books for his gritty and revelatory visions of the Caribbean, Bob Shacochis returns to occupied Haiti in The Woman Who Lost Her Soul before sweeping across time and continents to unravel tangled knots of romance, e...

Award-Winning Books by Bob Shacochis

Easy in the Islands
1985 National Book Award -- First Work of Fiction
The Woman Who Lost Her Soul
2014 Dayton Literary Peace Prize -- Fiction

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Bob Shacochis has published 6 books.

Bob Shacochis does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Woman Who Lost Her Soul, was published in September 2013.

The first book by Bob Shacochis, Easy in the Islands, was published in January 1985.

No. Bob Shacochis does not write books in series.