Author Information
Annie Groves's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    28 Books - 6 Series
  • First Book:
    September 2003
  • Latest Book:
    November 2022
  • Rating:
About the Author

Penelope "Penny" Jones was born on 24 November 1946 in Preston, Lancashire, England. She left grammar school in Rochdale with O-Levels in English Language, English Literature and Geography. She spent fourteen years working as a shorthand typist in Manchester. She began her writing career in 1979 as Caroline Courtney, writing regency romances. She also used the nom de plume of Melinda Wright for three air-hostess romps and Lydia Hitchcock, for two thrillers. Since 1981, she signs contemporary romances as Penny Jordan, and since 2003, she signs historical novels as Annie Groves, her mother's maiden-name.

Penny was one of the most prolific writers with more than 200 novels and 70 million copies of her books translated into many languages. Widow of Steve Halsall, an accountant, she lived in Nantwich, Cheshire with her dog, Sheba, and her cat, Posh. Sadly, she died of cancer on December 31, 2011 at a hospital in Cheshire.

Full Series List in Order

Article Row

1 - London Belles (Apr-2011)
2 - Home for Christmas (Nov-2011)
3 - My Sweet Valentine (Feb-2012)
4 - Only a Mother Knows (Mar-2013)
5 - A Christmas Promise (Oct-2013)

Campion Family

1 - Across the Mersey (Aug-2008)
2 - Daughters of Liverpool (Feb-2009)
3 - The Heart of the Family (Apr-2009)
4 - Where the Heart Is (Feb-2010)
5 - When the Lights Go on Again (Jul-2010)

District Nurse

1 - The District Nurses of Victory Walk (Jun-2018)
2 - Wartime for the District Nurses (Aug-2019)
3 - Christmas for the District Nurses (Nov-2019)
4 - A Gift for the District Nurses (Dec-2020)

Mersey

1 - Christmas on the Mersey (Oct-2014)
2 - Child of the Mersey (Feb-2015)
3 - The Mersey Daughter (Apr-2017)
4 - Winter on the Mersey (Oct-2017)

Pride Family

1 - Ellie Pride (Sep-2003)
2 - Connie's Courage (Aug-2004)
3 - Hettie of Hope Street (May-2005)

World War II

1 - Goodnight Sweetheart (Oct-2006)
2 - Some Sunny Day (Aug-2006)
3 - The Grafton Girls (Feb-2007)
4 - As Time Goes By (Feb-2008)

Book List in Order: 28 titles


  • A stunning saga debut from an author destined to be a star of the genre -- ELLIE PRIDE is an engrossing, heartrending story of love, passion, duty and family, set in the North-east in the early part of the twentieth century. A stirring tale charting ...



  • A stirring novel of passion, lost loves and one girl's determination to conquer the odds from the author of ELLIE PRIDE. When Connie Pride finds herself alone and pregnant in the rough courts of Liverpool, she despairs. Deserted by her lover, menaced...



  • A breathtaking tale set in 1920s Liverpool and London of one girl's determination to trace her roots, find true love and succeed in a world where obstacles lurk around every corner. Hettie is an orphan, taken in by Ellie Pride and her husband to thei...



  • This is a captivating saga set on the eve of WW2 in Liverpool, where life is about to change forever for one girl. As war breaks out so too does Molly Dearden! Molly is used to living in the shadow of her older sister, June. When their mother died wh...



  • This is a captivating saga set on the eve of WW2 in Liverpool, where life is about to change forever for one girl. As war breaks out so too does Molly Dearden! Molly is used to living in the shadow of her older sister, June. When their mother died wh...



  • 'The Grafton Girls' tells the story of four women brought together at the Grafton, the local dance hall favoured by American GIs as well as the local girls. In this heady, uncertain time, infatuation and passion blossom. But has each girl found true ...



  • The Liverpool-based World War II saga from the ‘new Katie Flynn’When Sam Grey joins the ATS, and is posted to Liverpool she wants to show that she’s as brave as any man, and when she doesn’t get the chance her lively nature leads her into con...



  • From the author of 'The Grafton Girls' comes the story of one Liverpool family preparing for the onslaught of World War Two, while trying not to fight among themselves. Jean and Vi are twins but couldn't be more different. Jean's proud of her honest,...



  • An evocative and heartrending saga set in Liverpool during World War Two, from the bestselling author of As Time Goes ByKatie’s full of trepidation as she arrives in Liverpool. It’s her first posting and her work will be so secret that she can’...






  • The much-loved author of ACROSS THE MERSEY tells of Liverpool under bombardment as never before – but the Campion family refuses to give in.The Campions have always stuck together through danger and sorrow, but even they begin to wonder if it’s t...



  • A fabulous drama of the Campion family, struggling to stay together as World War Two rages over LiverpoolLou Campion has joined the WAAFs, against the wishes of her parents and twin sister Sasha. Lou's always been a rebel, but now finds that if she w...



  • Autumn, 1944: the Allies are invading Italy. At home in Britain, along with everyone else, the Campion family are doing their part—working tirelessly in the hope that the end of the war is now in sight. Lou, separated from her twin Sasha, is spread...



  • London Belles is a tale of four very different young women thrown together by war. Finding freedom and independence – as well as love, passion and heartbreak – for the very first time, a unique bond is formed as the hostilities take their toll on...



  • Home for Christmas is a tale of four very different young women thrown together by war. Finding freedom and independence as well as love, passion and heartbreak for the very first time, a unique bond is formed as the hostilities take their toll on ...



  • An emotional portrayal of the lives of four women as Valentine''s day approaches, in 1941 wartime London''Life brought enough problems and upsets for young hearts, especially young female hearts, without them having to carry the added burden of the w...



  • A compelling novel about four young women in wartime London, from the best-selling author of London Belles and My Sweet Valentine.In Article Row, in London''s Holborn - four young women, Tilly, Sally, Dulcie and Agnes - have already been witnesses to...



  • An emotional and heart-warming portrayal of the lives of four women living in wartime London. For the girls living at No. 13 Article Row, life has never been tougher. Tilly is left heartbroken after the love of her life, Drew, returns to his ho...



  • An emotional and compelling wartime drama from the author of Only a Mother Knows and A Christmas Promise. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn. The phony war is over and Hitler’s bombs are raining down on the city of Liverpool. Rita Kennedy is for...



  • For the ordinary people of Empire Street, life will never be the same again. Kitty Fisher has plenty on her plate to keep her busy. Since her mother died when she was just a child, she’s cooked, cleaned and scraped to make ends meet for her drun...






  • The brand new Wartime drama novel from bestselling author Annie Groves, perfect for fans of Christmas on the Mersey and Child of the MerseyRita Kennedy has finally seen through her good-for-nothing husband, Charlie. Now he''s gone AWOL with his fancy...



  • The dramatic story of a young woman's war - full of heartache and triumph from the bestselling author of Christmas on the Mersey and London Belles Kitty has seen her fair share of tragedy and instead of thinking about romance, is determined to do her...



  • Alice Lake has arrived in London from Liverpool to start her training as a District Nurse, but her journey has been far from easy. Her parents think that she should settle down and get married, but she has already had her heart broken once and isn’...



  • The compelling new bestseller from the author of The Mersey Daughter and Winter on the Mersey.Alice Lake and her friend Edith have had everything thrown at them in their first year as district nurses in London’s East End. From babies born out of we...



  • ‘An evocative tale’ Woman MagazineThe East End of London has been devastated by the Blitz and the people are struggling to come to terms with their ravaged city. Rationing bites ever deeper and and everything that makes life better is in short su...



  • A captivating saga set on the eve of WWII in Liverpool, where life for one girl is about to change forever.Molly''s mother died when she was just a child and she helped her grief-stricken father look after their tiny home in their tight-knit Liverpoo...



  • Heartwarming and nostalgic fiction from the best selling author of The District Nurses of Victory Walk.It’s 1943 and the district nurses have two new recruits…As the country ramps up for D-Day, the new nurses getting to know their patients on the...



  • The new heartwarming read in the wartime District Nurses series - available to pre-order now!For the district nurses of Victory Walk, there''s been little time to bask in the triumph of D-day as London is facing a new threat - the buzz bombs. Everyon...



  • The three sisters of Victory Walk in East London will face heartache and tears on the home front. Rose, Clover and Daisy are the pretty blond sisters of the Harrison family, living with their parents and two brothers, and working in East London and t...


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Annie Groves has published 28 books.

Annie Groves does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Three Sisters of Victory Walk, was published in November 2022.

The first book by Annie Groves, Ellie Pride, was published in September 2003.

Yes. Annie Groves has 6 series.