City of Bones
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    April 2007
  • Latest Book:
    June 2014
  • Genres:
  • Age Level:
    Young Adult (12-17)
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

The Mortal Instruments Series in Order (6 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4
2 4.5
3 4.5
4 4.5
5 5
6 5

Book Descriptions for series: The Mortal Instruments

  • Book - 1

    When Clary Fray heads out to the Pandemonium Club in New York City, she hardly expects to witness a murder. Much less a murder committed by three teenagers covered with odd markings. This is Clary's first meeting with the Darkhunters, warriors dedica...

  • Book - 2

    Clary Fray just wishes that her life would go back to normal But what's normal when you're a demon-slaying Shadowhunter, your mother is in a magically induced coma, and you can suddenly see Downworlders like werewolves, vampires, and faeries? Clary w...

  • Book - 3

    To save her mother's life, Clary must travel to the City of Glass, the ancestral home of the Shadowhunters -- never mind that enter-ing the city without permission is against the Law, and breaking the Law could mean death. To make things worse, she l...

  • Book - 4

    The Mortal War is over, and Clary Fray is back home in New York, excited about all the possibilities before her. She's training to become a Shadowhunter and to use her unique power. Her mother is getting married to the love of her life. Drownworlders...

  • Book - 5

    What price is too high to pay, even for love? Plunge into the fifth installment of the internationally bestselling Mortal Instruments series and “prepare to be hooked” (Entertainment Weekly). The New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments c...

  • Book - 6

    Shadowhunters and demons square off for the final showdown in the spellbinding, seductive conclusion to the #1 New York Times bestselling Mortal Instruments series -- now with a gorgeous new cover, a map, a new foreword, and exclusive bonus content! ...


City of Bones
2010 Young Reader's Choice Award -- Senior/Grades 10-12
City of Fallen Angels
2011 Goodreads Choice Award -- Goodreads Author
City of Heavenly Fire
2014 Goodreads Choice Award -- Young Adult Fantasy

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 6 books in The Mortal Instruments series.

The Mortal Instruments series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, City of Heavenly Fire (Book 6), was published in June 2014.

The first book in The Mortal Instruments series, City of Bones, was published in April 2007.

The Mortal Instruments series primarily falls into the Fantasy genre. This young adult series was written for ages 12-17, but can be enjoyed by adults too.