The Duke and I
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    January 2000
  • Latest Book:
    April 2013
  • Genres:
    Historical Romance
  • Setting:
    Regency England
  • Characters:
    The eight Bridgerton siblings
  • Series Rating:
  • Description:
    The Bridgertons is the wildly popular Regency-set historical romance series by Julia Quinn. The first book in the series, the Duke and I, was published in 2000. At the center of the series are the eight Bridgerton siblings and their widowed mother. The series takes place from 1813 to 1827 with each of the eight children getting their own book. The series is known for its witty humor and its now-famous gossip columnist, Lady Whistledown. The series has been turned into a Netflix TV series produced by Shonda Rimes.
  • Share:

The Bridgertons Series in Order (12 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4.5
2 4.5
3 5
4 4.5
4.5 (ss) 4.5
5 5
5.5 (ss) 4.5
6 5
7 5

8 4
8.5 4

Book Descriptions for series: The Bridgertons

  • Book - 1

    HAS THE DEVASTATING DUKE FINALLY FOUND A BRIDE? All the society papers say so. But, only the Duke of Hastings and "his "intended" know the truth. For the irresistible Simon Basset has hatched a plan to keep himself free from all those ...

  • Book - 2

    1814 promises to be another eventful season, but not, This Author believes, for Anthony Bridgerton, London's most elusive bachelor, who has shown no indication that he plans to marry. And in all truth, why should he? When it comes to playing the cons...

  • Book - 3

    Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball -- or that "Prince Charming" would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disd...

  • Book - 4

    "Everyone knows that Colin Bridgerton is the most charming man in London." Lady Whistledown's Society Papers, March 1824 Penelope Featherington has secretly adored her best friend's brother for ... well, it feels like forever. After half a lifeti...

  • Book - 4.5

    Lady Whistledown Tells All! Society is abuzz when the Season's most promising debutante is jilted by her intended only to be swept away by the deceitful rogue's dashing older-brother- in New York Times bestseller JULIA QUINN's witty, charming, and...

  • Book - 5

    My dear Miss Bridgerton, We have been corresponding now for quite some time, and although we have never formally met, I feel as if I know you. Forgive me if I am too bold, but I am writing to invite you to visit me. It is my hope that we might ...

  • Book - 5.5

    Who Stole Lady Neeley's Bracelet? Was it the fortune hunter, the gambler, the servant, or the rogue? All of London is abuzz with speculation, but it is clear that one of four couples is connected to the crime. Lady Whistledown's Society Paper...

  • Book - 6

    Everything was so much simpler...When he was wicked. In every life there is a turning point. A moment so tremendous, so sharp and breathtaking, that one knows one's life will never be the same. For Michael Stirling, London's most infamous rake, t...

  • Book - 7

    MEET OUR HERO... Gareth St. Clair is in a bind. His father, who detests him, is determined to beggar the St. Clair estates and ruin his inheritance. Gareth's sole bequest is an old family diary, which may or may not contain the secrets of his past ....

  • Book - 8

    A funny thing happened... Unlike most men of his acquaintance, Gregory Bridgerton believes in true love. And he is convinced that when he finds the woman of his dreams, he will know in an instant that she is the one. And that is exactly what happ...

  • Book - 8.5

    Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series remains one of the most beloved among historical romance readers, and this collection of “second epilogues” -- stories that take place after the original books end -- offer fans more from their favorite character...

  • From the #1 New York Times bestselling author Julia Quinn comes a highly designed, colorful collection of quotes, wit, and wisdom from Lady Whistledown and the most memorable characters of the much-loved Bridgerton books, now a series created by Shon...


It's in His Kiss
2005 RT Reviewers Choice Award -- British Isles Historical Romance
On the Way to the Wedding
2006 All About Romance Reader Award -- Most Disappointing Read
2006 All About Romance Reader Award -- Worst Read
2007 Rita Award -- Long Historical Romance
Romancing Mister Bridgerton
2002 All About Romance Reader Award -- Best Couple
2002 All About Romance Reader Award -- Best Heroine
The Viscount Who Loved Me
2000 All About Romance Reader Award -- Best Funny
When He Was Wicked
2004 All About Romance Reader Award -- Most-Hanky Read

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 12 books in The Bridgertons series.

The Bridgertons series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Bridgertons: Happily Ever After (Book 8.5), was published in April 2013.

The first book in The Bridgertons series, The Duke and I, was published in January 2000.

The Bridgertons series primarily falls into the Historical Romance genre.