Series List in Order

Author Book Genre Date Rating
(e) Fantasy / F 0 Buy
Fantasy / F 4 Buy
General Fiction / GF 5 Buy
General Fiction / GF 1 Buy
General Fiction / GF 3.5 Buy
Action Adventure / AA 5 Buy
Fantasy / F 4 Buy
Fantasy / F 4 Buy
Science Fiction / Fantasy / SFF 3.5 Buy



Fantasy / F 3 Buy
Fantasy / F 3 Buy
Historical / H 5 Buy
Graphic Novel / GN 5 Buy
(e) Fantasy / F 0 Buy
(e) Fantasy / F 5 Buy
Romance / R 0 Buy
Literary / L 5 Buy

Book Descriptions for series: Fairytale Retellings: Hansel and Gretel


  • Shelley Chappell
    • / Fantasy
    • Buy

    Hah and Grr were abandoned in the wood as babies and raised by Mother Wolf. They are happy, but they are the weakest of the pack and they are often hungry. One day, when they are following in the tracks of their lupine family, they smell something wo...



  • Donna Jo Napoli

    From the author of Zel, Stones in Water, and The Prince of the Pond.   Deep in the woods lives the old witch called Ugly One. All she wants is to forget—the she was once a loving mother and a healer, blessed and powerful within her magic circle, a...



  • Louise Murphy

    A poignant and suspenseful retelling of a famous fairy tale set in a war-torn world In the last months of the Nazi occupation of Poland, two children are left by their father and stepmother to find safety in a dense forest. Because their real name...




  • Keith McGowan

    I love children. Eating them, that is. So begins this funny, nail-biting adventure for readers who love Roald Dahl and Adam Gidwitz. Called "funny and subversive" by USA Today and a "literary treat" by The New Yorker, the book blends humor and advent...



  • Adam Gidwitz

    Hansel and Gretel walk out of their own story and into eight other classic Grimm (and Grimm-inspired) fairy tales. An irreverent, witty narrator leads us through encounters with witches, warlocks, dragons, and the devil himself. As the siblings roam ...



  • Jackson Pearce

    As a child, Gretchen's twin sister was taken by a witch in the woods. Ever since, Gretchen and her brother, Ansel, have felt the long branches of the witch's forest threatening to make them disappear, too. Years later, when their stepmother casts ...



  • Alex Flinn

    Bewitching can be a beast. . . . Once, I put a curse on a beastly and arrogant high school boy. That one turned out all right. Others didn't. I go to a new school now -- one where no one knows that I should have graduated long ago. I'm not stil...



  • Nikki Loftin

    Lorelei is bowled over by Splendid Academy--Principal Trapp encourages the students to run in the hallways, the classrooms are stocked with candy dishes, and the cafeteria serves lavish meals featuring all Lorelei's favorite foods. But the more time ...







  • Claire Legrand

    At the Cavendish Home for Boys and Girls, you will definitely learn your lesson. A dark, timeless, and heartfelt novel for fans of Coraline and The Mysterious Benedict Society. Victoria hates nonsense. There is no need for it when your life is per...



  • Chloe Jacobs

    While trying to save her brother from the witch three years ago, Greta was thrown into the fire herself, falling through a portal to a dangerous world where humans are the enemy, and every ogre, goblin, and ghoul has a dark side that comes out with t...



  • Eliza Granville

    A captivating and atmospheric historical novel about a young girl in Nazi Germany, a psychoanalyst in fin-de-siècle Vienna, and the powerful mystery that links them together. "Gretel and the Dark" explores good and evil, hope and despair, showing...



  • Neil Gaiman

    "If this isn't the definitive edition of Hansel and Gretel, it's absolutely necessary."—Kirkus Reviews, starred reviewBest-selling author Neil Gaiman and fine artist Lorenzo Mattotti join forces to create Hansel & Gretel, a stunning book that's at ...



  • Brittany Fichter

    King Everard and Queen Isabelle have no heir. Two children have no family. But what happens when Isa and Ever find out that these children might be the greatest threat the kingdom has seen in 500 years?In this retelling of Hansel and Gretel, Henri an...



  • Hope Ann

    Any victor should know better than to issue a pardon for those he’d defeated. Especially when the defeated include power-hungry rebels. Rebels Haydn spent the last two years fighting alongside before abandoning them on the seeming cusp of victory.I...



  • Sadie Cuffe; Sophie Cuffe

    Hansel and Gretel Sweetser live a happy life, except for that unfortunate time of incarceration and near-ingestion in the witch’s gingerbread house. But that was twenty years ago, and no one believes them anyway. Now they run the successful H & G B...



  • Helen Oyeyemi

    The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy, Snow, Bird and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a bewitching and inventive novel. Influenced by the mysterious place gingerbread holds in classic children's stories -- equal parts wholesome ...


Awards

A Tale Dark and Grimm
2012 Charlotte Award -- Middle School/Grades 6-8
2012 Kentucky Bluegrass Award -- Grades 6-8