Summer of the Big Bachi
  • # of Books:
  • First Book:
    April 2004
  • Latest Book:
    February 2018
  • Genres:
  • Series Rating:
  • Share:

The Mas Arei Series in Order (7 Books)

Order Book Date Rating
1 4
2 4
3 4
4 5
5 4
6 4
7 5

Book Descriptions for series: A Mas Arei Mystery

  • Book - 1

    Hiroshima 1945. Los Angeles 1999. A summer of war. A summer of secrets. A summer of revenge. In the foothills of Pasadena, Mas Arai is just another Japanese American gardener, his lawn mower blades clean and sharp, his truck carefully tuned. But whi...

  • Book - 2

    From the time she was a child, Mas Arai’s daughter, Mari, was completely gasa-gasa -- never sitting still, always on the go, getting into everything. And Mas, busy tending lawns, gambling, and struggling to put his Hiroshima past behind him, never ...

  • Book - 3

    From Summer of the Big Bachi to Gasa-Gasa Girl, Naomi Hirahara's acclaimed novels have featured one of mystery fiction's most unique heroes: Mas Arai, a curmudgeonly L.A. gardener, Hiroshima survivor, and inveterate gambler. Few things get Mas mo...

  • Book - 4

    In this fourth installment of Naomi Hirahara's highly acclaimed "Mas Arai" mystery series, Mas' best friend Haruo is getting married and Mas has grudgingly agreed to serve as best man. But then an ancient Japanese doll display of Haruo's fiancee goes...

  • Book - 5

    Curmudgeonly Japanese American gardener and unwitting detective Mas Arai is back in this fifth in the Edgar Award�"winning series. Naomi Hirahara has created a memorable protagonist unlike any other: a Hiroshima survivor, Los Angeles gardener, wi...

  • Book - 6

    �"Hirahara has a keen eye for the telling detail and an assured sense of character.”� -- Los Angeles TimesAt Dodger Stadium it’s Japan vs. Korea in the World Baseball Classic, but before the first pitch is thrown, Mas Arai finds himself in the mi...

  • Book - 7

    LA gardener Mas Arai returns to Hiroshima to bring his best friend’s ashes to a relative on the tiny offshore island of Ino, only to become embroiled in the mysterious death of a teenage boy who was about the same age Mas was when he survived th...


Snakeskin Shamisen
2007 Edgar Allan Poe Award -- Paperback Original

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

There are 7 books in the Mas Arei series.

The Mas Arei series does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Hiroshima Boy (Book 7), was published in February 2018.

The first book in the Mas Arei series, Summer of the Big Bachi, was published in April 2004.

The Mas Arei series primarily falls into the Mystery genre.