Description
The Reader by Traci Chee
A stunning debut set in a world where reading is unheard-of, perfect for fans of "Inkheart" and "Shadow and Bone"

Sefia knows what it means to survive. After her father is brutally murdered, she flees into the wilderness with her aunt Nin, who teaches her to hunt, track, and steal. But when Nin is kidnapped, leaving Sefia completely alone, none of her survival skills can help her discover where Nin’s been taken, or if she’s even alive. The only clue to both her aunt’s disappearance and her father’s murder is the odd rectangular object her father left behind, an object she comes to realize is a book -- a marvelous item unheard of in her otherwise illiterate society. With the help of this book, and the aid of a mysterious stranger with dark secrets of his own, Sefia sets out to rescue her aunt and find out what really happened the day her father was killed -- and punish the people responsible.

With overlapping stories of swashbuckling pirates and merciless assassins, "The Reader" is a brilliantly told adventure from an extraordinary new talent.
Full Synopsis
About the Book
  • Published:
    Jan-2016 (Hardcover)
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook / Audio
  • Pages:
    464
  • Age Level:
    12 & up
  • Purchase:

 

What Readers Are Saying
What do you think? Write your own comment on this book!
   Write a Comment 
Reader Tags
LibraryThing recommendations and tag cloud
Goodreads Reviews
get social with us

Share This Page