Author Information
Nicole Byrd's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    11 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    May 2000
  • Latest Book:
    April 2008
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Cheryl Byrd was born on 9 June 1947 in Clarksville, Tennessee, USA, daughter of Nancy, a sales manager, and Smith Henry Byrd, a military officer. As an army brat, she has lived in Tennessee, Texas, Georgia, Kentucky, the Mississippi Gulf Coast, southern California, Great Britain, and Germany. Growing up, she changed schools ten times in twelve years. On 2 June 1967, she married Q. J. Wasden, a sales manager. They had two children: Quinton John and Michelle Nicole, and divorced in September 1979. On 20 June 1982, she married Charles O. Zach Jr., the president of a die casting company, who died on 1990. She obtained a BA (1968) and MA (1977) in English Literature at Austin Peay State University. She worked as high school English teacher in Harrison County, MS, 1970-71; as freelance journalist, 1976-77; high school English teacher in Dyersburg, TN, 1978-82; before stopping to write full time.

As Cheryl Zach, she wrote Young Adult and romance novels, she also used the pseudonym of Jennifer Cole. So after publishing over thirty books in various genres, she was thrilled to write books. But, she loves history, most of all English history, and most wanted to write historical adventure set in the English Regency period–Jane Austen’s era. The first books as Nicole Byrd were written with her daughter Michelle Nicole Wasden Place. When Michelle became too busy with a growing family to do more than function as the world’s best critique partner, the later books were written on her own. The books in the Sinclair Family Saga have been a delight to write, and the characters have become as familiar and beloved as old friends. Her book Benny and the No-Good Teacher was a nominee for the South Carolina Children’s Book Award and her book, The Class Trip was an International Reading Association/Children’s Book Award. Zach is the first young adult writer to be inducted into the Romance Writers of America’s Hall of Fame. She was also the first recipient of Young Adult Network’s Silver Diary Award. Her historical novel, Hearts Divided, won the 1996 Virginia Romance Writer’s Holt Medallion in the Young Adult category. Her articles have appeared in The Writer magazine, Children's Writer, and the Writer's Handbook. She is the current chairperson of the SCBWI Regional Advisors.

Full Series List in Order

Applegate Sisters

1 - A Lady Betrayed (Nov-2007)
2 - Enticing the Earl (Apr-2008)

Related Books

1 - Dear Impostor (Aug-2001)
2 - Lady in Waiting (May-2002)
3 - Widow in Scarlet (Sep-2003)
4 - Beauty in Black (Jun-2004)
5 - Vision In Blue (Feb-2005)
6 - Gilding the Lady (Aug-2005)
7 - Seducing Sir Oliver (Jul-2006)
8 - A Lady of Scandal (Feb-2007)

Book List in Order: 11 titles

  • He returned home only to find his betrothed had married another... After rotting away for years in a French prison, Lord Robert Manning wants nothing more than to return to the life -- and fiancee -- he had left behind to fight Napoleon. but belie...

  • Dear stranger... There's only one way for Miss Psyche Hill to gain control of her inheritance: marriage. Unfortunately, potential suitors have been run off by her uncle, who would like nothing better than to keep Psyche's money in the famil...

  • Lady in waiting... For years, Circe Hill waited for David, earl of Westbury, notice her. She had loved him for so long, but it seemed she loved in vain. Until one day, her dream finally come David wants to court her -- just for all the wrong reasons...

  • Lord of mystery... Nicholas Ramsey, Viscount Richmond, has a well-earned reputation for seduction and scandal. What isn't so widely known is the secret mission entrusted to him by the Prince Regent -- to bring to England a legendary ruby known...

  • Although many assumed that lovely widow Marianne Hughes would marry again, she has no desire to do so and is content with her independent single state. But her status as a respectable widow makes her an ideal chaperon, so she reluctantly agrees to gu...

  • Nicole Byrd is praised for her wonderfully witty and richly romantic stories, and her star continues to rise with this delightful tale about a young woman who discovers things she never knew about herself and finds them deliciously exciting... Who...

  • Clarissa Fallon is not accustomed to fancy parties or the luxuries of wealth. When her widowed mother died after her brother had shipped out to sea, she was sent to an orphanage and then sold into servitude to a tyrannical employer. But when her b...

  • Whisked off to London by her newly revealed half brother, Miss Juliana Applegate is supposed to be looking for an eligible gentleman suitable for marriage. But when she arrives, an illness in her brother's household forces her to stay instead wit...

  • Miss Ophelia Applegate knows that ladies rarely become actresses without incurring social ruin -- but surely there are exceptions? Determined to tread the boards, she runs away from home, reluctantly accompanied by her more sensible twin, Cordelia. T...

  • When Adrian Carter, Viscount Weller, comes across an unconscious woman in the rain, his attempts to aid her land them in a compromising position. Now, with her reputation ruined, Madeline has no choice but to accept Adrian's marriage proposal...

  • What lady would dare ignore the most basic rules of propriety? What reason could she have for flouting convention? And if she is found out, will she be ruined forever? Selfless widow Lauryn Applegate Harris is determined to retrieve the deed to he...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Nicole Byrd has published 11 books.

Nicole Byrd does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Enticing the Earl, was published in April 2008.

The first book by Nicole Byrd, Robert's Lady, was published in May 2000.

Yes. Nicole Byrd has 2 series.