Author Information
Nancy Farmer's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    16 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    July 1988
  • Latest Book:
    September 2013
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

House of the Scorpion

1 - House of the Scorpion (Sep-2002)
2 - The Lord of Opium (Sep-2013)

Sea of Trolls

1 - The Sea of Trolls (Jun-2005)
2 - The Land of the Silver Apples (Sep-2007)
3 - The Islands of the Blessed (Oct-2009)

Book List in Order: 16 titles

  • For almost 15 years, this widely heralded, award-winning anthology series has been propelling readers into realms beyond time and space, parallel worlds and alternate realities and place at the infinite edges of the imagination. The impetus for these...

  • Zimbabwe, 2194 The three children of the wealthy and powerful General Matsika steal out of the house on a forbidden adventure -- and promptly disappear. Their parents call in the best detectives in Africa, or at least the most unusual: the Ear, the ...

  • It's going to take more than a little "giraffe magic" to save Ruva. Ruva lives peacefully with her giraffe family in Africa -- until she is kidnapped by the dastardly Slope family and shipped to an American zoo. Then she meets the wise rats Troll ...

    • / General Fiction
    • Buy Buy

    Nhamo's mother is dead, and her father is gone. When she learns that she must marry a cruel man with three wives -- before her twelfth birthday -- she runs away. Alone on the river, in a stolen boat, Nhamo is swept into the uncharted heart of a great...

  • Mrs. Runnery has a granary and a big problem--something is eating her grain! Is it weevils? Rats? Wolves? Or worse? Wise old Granny Runnery knows exactly what it is--and how to eliminate it. "A charming tale that story-hour crowds are sure to eat up....

  • MATTEO ALACRAN WAS NOT BORN; HE WAS HARVESTED. His DNA came from El Patron, lord of a country called Opium -- a strip of poppy fields lying between the United States and what was once called Mexico. Matt's first cell split and divided inside a pe...

  • Firebirds is more than simply an anthology -- it is a celebration of wonderful writing. It gathers together sixteen original stories by some of today's finest writers of fantasy and science fiction. Together, they have won virtually every major prize...

  • Jack was eleven when the berserkers loomed out of the fog and nabbed him. "It seems that things are stirring across the water," the Bard had warned. "Ships are being built, swords are being forged." "Is that bad?" Jack had asked, for his Saxon villa...

  • Three-time Newbery Honor Book author Nancy Farmer joins bestselling artist Gail de Marcken in this enchanting, original tale told in the tradition of the Arabian Nights.

    Ali is finally old enough to join his father in tending pigeons for the e...

  • THE CHILDREN FROM THE SEA OF TROLLS BRAVE THEIR WORST NIGHTMARES -- UNDERGROUND. Jack is amazed to have caused an earthquake. He is thirteen, after all, and only a bard-in-training. But his sister, Lucy, has been stolen by the Lady of the Lake; s...

  • First Firebirds. Then Firebirds Rising. Now there is Firebirds Soaring, the third anthology of original stories by some of today?s finest writers of fantasy and science fiction. These authors, including Nancy Farmer (The Sea of Trolls), Ellen Klages ...

  • In this much-anticipated conclusion to the Sea of Trolls trilogy, Notland is no place to seek one's true calling. Or is it?...

  • Sometime in the near future, the U.S. government discovers that it doesn't have enough money to cover Social Security and Medicare. Thus are born the new Senior Laws. These are aimed at making sure no one lives much past age sixty-five. The Diminishe...

  • As the teenage ruler of his own country, Matt must cope with clones and cartels in this riveting sequel to the modern classic House of the Scorpion, winner of the National Book Award, a Newbery Honor, and a Printz Honor. Matt has always been nothi...

Award-Winning Books by Nancy Farmer

House of the Scorpion
2002 National Book Award -- Young People's Literature
2002 Parents Choice Award (Fall) (1998-2007) -- Recommended
2003 Bookseller's Choice -- Young Adult
2004 Rhode Island Teen Book Award -- Ages 12 & Up
2004 Sequoyah Book Award -- Young Adult
2004 Volunteer State Book Award -- Young Adult
2005 Grand Canyon Reader Award -- Teen
2005 Nevada Young Readers' Award -- Young Adult
2005 South Carolina Childrens, Junior and Young Adult Book Award -- Junior Book
2005 Young Reader's Choice Award -- Senior/Grades 10-12
2006 Young Hoosier Book Award -- Middle Grades
The Sea of Trolls
2004 Parents Choice Award (Fall) (1998-2007) -- Gold
2007 Virginia Readers Choice Award -- Middle School

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Nancy Farmer has published 16 books.

Nancy Farmer does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Lord of Opium, was published in September 2013.

The first book by Nancy Farmer, The Mirror, was published in July 1988.

Yes. Nancy Farmer has 2 series.