Author Information
Jeff Lindsay's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    16 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    August 1994
  • Latest Book:
    December 2023
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Jeff Lindsay is the pen name of American playwright and crime novelist Jeffry P. Freundlich (born July 14, 1952), best known for his novels about sociopathic vigilante Dexter Morgan. Many of his earlier published works include his wife Hilary Hemingway as a co-author. His wife is the niece of Ernest Hemingway and an author in her own right. Lindsay was born in Miami and graduated from Ransom Everglades School in 1970, and from Middlebury College, Vermont, in 1975.

The first book in the Dexter series, Darkly Dreaming Dexter (which Lindsay wanted to name "Pinocchio Bleeds" after his middle daughter suggested it but his publisher disagreed) was included on the original nomination list for the Mystery Writers of America's Edgar Awards in the Best First Novel category. However, it was dropped from the list after the group learned that Lindsay had put out several books in the 1990s under another pen name, Jeffrey P. Lindsay.

Dexter aired as a 2006 TV series on Showtime with the first season based on Darkly Dreaming Dexter. The show eventually ran for eight seasons, but subsequent seasons had original storylines that did not follow the plots of Lindsay's books. Lindsay had a cameo role in the tenth episode of the third season of Dexter.

He lives in Florida with his family.

Lindsay is also writing a comic book version of Dexter distributed by Marvel comics.

Full Series List in Order


1 - Darkly Dreaming Dexter (Jul-2004)
2 - Dearly Devoted Dexter (Jul-2005)
3 - Dexter in the Dark (Jul-2007)
4 - Dexter by Design (Sep-2009)
5 - Dexter Is Delicious (Sep-2010)
6 - Double Dexter (Oct-2011)
7 - Dexter's Final Cut (Sep-2013)
8 - Dexter is Dead (Jul-2015)

Riley Wolfe

1 - Just Watch Me (Dec-2019)
2 - Fool Me Twice (Dec-2020)
3 - Three-Edged Sword (Dec-2022)
4 - The Fourth Rule (Dec-2023)

Book List in Order: 16 titles

  • A disillusioned ex-cop is drawn back into danger in this “rock-solid series debut” by the New York Times"bestselling author of the Dexter novels (Booklist).   When a hostage situation turns deadly, Billy Knight loses everything -- his wife...

  • Meet Dexter Morgan, a polite wolf in sheep's clothing. He's handsome and charming, but something in his past has made him abide by a different set of rules. He's a serial killer whose one golden rule makes him immensely likeable: he only kills bad pe...

  • Life's tough for Dexter Morgan. It's not easy being the world's only serial killer with a conscience, especially when you work for the Miami police. To avoid suspicion, Dexter's had to slip deep into his disguise: spending time with his girlfriend an...

  • In his work as a Miami crime scene investigator, Dexter Morgan is accustomed to seeing evil deeds ... particularly because, on occasion, he commits them himself. But Dexter's happy existence is turned upside down when he is called to an unusually dis...

  • The macabre, witty New York Times bestselling series (and inspiration for the #1 Showtime series, Dexter) continues as our darkly lovable killer matches wits with a sadistic artiste--who is creating bizarre murder tableaux of his own all over Miami. ...

  • Dexter Morgan has always lived a happy homicidal life. He keeps his dark urges in check by adhering to one steadfast rule . . . he only kills very bad people. But now Dexter is experiencing some major life changes -- don't we all? -- and they're mos...

  • Dexter Morgan is not your average serial killer. He enjoys his day job as a blood spatter analyst for the Miami Police Department . . . but he lives for his nighttime hobby of hunting other killers. Dexter is therefore not pleased to discover that so...

  • With 1.7 million copies of the Dexter novels sold, and ever-increasing critical acclaim, Jeff Lindsay returns to his groundbreaking and beloved character with his most entertaining book yet. Get ready for a grisly send-up of Hollywood, and a full dos...

  • Dexter returns in an all-new, all-Australian, blood-soaked adventure written by his creator, Jeff Lindsay! Dexter Morgan isn't just Miami's #1 forensic blood splatter expert...he's also a serial killer who targets other serial killers! But when Dexte...

  • Dexter Morgan is more than Miami's top forensic blood spatter expert. He does double-duty as the city's friendly neighborhood crime-fighting serial killer...a murderer who targets his fellow murderers! Dexter puts his horrible hobby on hold as he fin...

  • After seven national bestsellers and eight seasons as one of the most successful shows on television, New York Times bestselling author Jeff Lindsay bids a thrilling farewell to his uniquely twisted and beloved serial killer, Dexter Morgan. DEXTER IS...

  • From the New York Times"bestselling author of the Dexter novels: “A game of cat and mouse that builds to an utterly terrifying climax on the high seas” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).   Ex-cop Billy Knight wants to ride out Key West...

  • A masterful thief plots an impossible crime -- stealing the Iranian Crown Jewels. From the author of the wildly successful Dexter series comes a new, mesmerizing bad guy we can root for: Riley Wolfe. He’s a master thief, expert at disguise, and...

  • Pulling off an impossible crime is the only way he can stay alive. Stealing a Faberge egg. Surviving a double cross. And pulling off the most incredible robbery ever, for the world’s most demanding -- and dangerous -- collector.   This will be...

  • Wickedly funny. Wildly twisty. The new book from the master of the heist novel. “A super-thief who leaves no trace.” -- Andy Garcia “An anti-hero for our times.” -- Sarah Dunn “A can't-miss master.” -- David Baldacci Super thief Riley Wol...

  • THE BIGGEST HEIST. THE MOST DANGEROUS ADVERSARY. FROM THE MASTER OF THE GENRE. OH, AND EXPLOSIONS.  Impossible doesn’t belong in Riley Wolfe’s vocabulary. He’s a master of heists and disguises, whose life's work is swindling the rich out o...

Award-Winning Books by Jeff Lindsay

Darkly Dreaming Dexter
2005 Dilys Award -- Mystery Novel

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Jeff Lindsay has published 16 books.

Jeff Lindsay does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Fourth Rule, was published in December 2023.

The first book by Jeff Lindsay, Tropical Depression, was published in August 1994.

Yes. Jeff Lindsay has 2 series.