Author Information
James Crumley's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    13 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    January 1975
  • Latest Book:
    May 2005
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

C. W. Sughrue & Milo Milodragovitch

1 - The Wrong Case (1975)
2 - Dancing Bear (Mar-1983)
3 - The Last Good Kiss (1978)
4 - The Mexican Tree Duck (Sep-1993)
5 - Bordersnakes (Nov-1996)
6 - The Final Country (Oct-2001)

Book List in Order: 13 titles

    • / Private Investigator
    • Buy Buy

    Milo once had a thriving divorce-case business in the small town of in the Pacific Northwest, but because of liberal new divorce laws has taken to drinking and staring out the window. He's up to his third drink of the morning when an attractive young...

    • / Private Investigator
    • Buy Buy

    "When I finally caught up with Abraham Trahearne, he was drinking beer with an alcoholic bulldog named Fireball Roberts in a ramshackle joint just outside of Sonoma, California, drinking the heart out of a fine spring afternoon... " That's how Det...

  • Detective Milodragovitch spends too much time boozing until he gets caught up in a case involving two-bit criminals and an old lady on the run....

  • One of 50 deluxe numbered copies signed by Crumley on a special page at the beginning of the book. Quarter leather and marbled boards as issued with gold stamping on the spine without dust jacket as issued....

  • The time: late summer, 1962. The place: Clark Air Force Base, the Philippines. Sergeant Jacob “Slag” Krummel, a scholar by intent but a warrior by breeding, assumes command of the 721st Communication Security Detachment, and unsoldierly crew of b...

  • For the crime of executing a jukebox on a lonesome Montana railbed, C. W. Sughrue ("Shoog as in sugar. And rue as in rue the goddamned day.") has been sentenced to do business with the hardest hard cases in the new American West--and to locate a miss...

  • Sixteen stories about love gone wrong consider the link between romance and death and include contributions by such popular authors as Mary Higgins Clark, Jonathan Kellerman, Elmore Leonard, Ed McBain, and Joyce Carol Oates. Reprint....

  • ONE GOT SHOT. THE OTHER GOT MAD. Someone took all the money Milo's daddy left for him. Someone shot Sughrue in the stomach and left him to die. Now, the two toughest private eyes ever to come from Montana are driving a massive El Dorado through Texa...

  • Milo Milodragovitch is back in Texas, running the bar of his dreams and trying to do a little private investigating on the side. His relationship with his woman is on the rocks ever since his overnight fling with the classy, scotch-drinking Molly McB...

  • James Crumley is one of the most influential crime writers of the post-Chandler era, and his raw, subversive novels have earned him living legend status. He first introduced readers to C. W. Sughrue ("‘Shoog’ as in sugar. And ‘rue’ as in rue ...

Award-Winning Books by James Crumley

The Mexican Tree Duck
1994 Hammett -- Best Novel

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

James Crumley has published 13 books.

James Crumley does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, The Right Madness, was published in May 2005.

The first book by James Crumley, The Wrong Case, was published in January 1975.

Yes. James Crumley has 1 series.