Author Information
J. Frank Dobie's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    9 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    February 1939
  • Latest Book:
    October 2022
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

Legends of Texas

1 - Lost Mines and Buried Treasure (Mar-1992)
2 - Pirates' Gold and Other Tales (Sep-1995)

Book List in Order: 9 titles

  • Buried vaults stacked with gold bars, secret caches of coins and jewels plundered from the Spaniards and the Church, exposed veins of ore with nuggets the size of turkey eggs. Guarded by the bones of dead men, the legendary treasures of the Southwes...

  • The Ben Lilly Legend brings back to life a great American hunter--the greatest bear hunter in history after Davy Crockett, by his own account and also by the record. J. Frank Dobie met Lilly and was so struck by this extraordinary ma...

  • "''ll Tell You a Tale is a garland of some of Frank Dobie''s best writing, put together by Isabel Gaddis, one of his former students at the University of Texas. The tales included are those the author himself liked best, and he even rewrote some of t...

  • It is for good reason that J. Frank Dobie is known as the Southwest's master storyteller. With his eye for color and detail, his ear for the rhythm of language and song, and his heart open to the simple truth of folk wisdom and ways, he movingly a...

  • The legends of Texas are as sizable as the state itself, and J. Frank Dobie, perhaps the west's greatest historian, devoted years of his life to collecting and cataloging them.

    Texas abounds with legends of buried treasure and lost mines. Th...

  • "

    There's treasure buried beneath Texas soil or stowed in caves covered over by stones. It might be the mother lode that's waiting to be uncovered or some Spanish pirate's chest of jewels and doubloons. Nearby a ghostly figure walks the dunes, or i...

  • “This is the best work ever written on hidden treasure, and one of the most fascinating books on any subject to come out of Texas.” -- Basic Texas Books   Written in 1930, Coronado’s Children was one of J. Frank Dobie’s first books, and...

  • A Publication of the Texas Folklore Society. The topics include Indian pictographs in the Big Bend, the cowboy dance, a miscellany of Texas folk songs, blues as folk songs, German customs in Gillespie County, customs and superstitions of Texas-Mexica...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

J. Frank Dobie has published 9 books.

J. Frank Dobie does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Coffee in the Gourd, was published in October 2022.

The first book by J. Frank Dobie, Apache Gold and Yaqui Silver, was published in February 1939.

Yes. J. Frank Dobie has 1 series.