Author Information
Erica Quest's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    7 Books (1 Series)
  • First Book:
    July 1978
  • Latest Book:
    June 1992
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Nancy J. Buckingham, borned on 10 August 1924, and John Sawyer, borned in 4 October 1919, married in 1949, they had a son, David, and a daughter, Helen. They formed one of the most popular writting-team marriage. Their first books were published under her maiden name Nancy Buckingham since 1967, are classical gothic novels. In 1970s, they started to used the pseudonyms: Christina Abbey and Erica Quest. In 1980, they sold her first novels to Silhouette, and they mixed their names to create the penname Nancy John. They also published one novel as Hilary London. The last novels that they published are a popular police series as Erica Quest, protagonized by the Detective Chief Inspector Kate Maddox. Their last novel was released in 1992, and John Sawyer passed away in 1994.

Nancy J. Buckingham Sawyer was the eighth elected Chairman (1973-1975) of the Romantic Novelists' Association, and now was one of its Vice-Presidents.

Full Series List in Order

Detective Chief Inspector Kate Maddox

1 - Death Walk // Murder in the Cotswolds (May-1988)
2 - Cold Coffin (May-1990)
3 - Model Murder (Mar-1991)
4 - Deadly Deceit (Jun-1992)

Book List in Order: 7 titles

  • The discovery that Gail Sherbrooke’s father, who she’d thought dead for over twenty years, had just committed suicide in Switzerland sends the aspiring young artist off on a search to learn the truth about a man she had never known. Lying just b...

  • American Tess Pennicott goes to England, the young woman takes over the running of an antique shop from her late uncle. She discovers a lovely porcelain sugar box later identified as the October Cabaret, one of a series of Sevres breakfast sets comm...

  • Tracy Yorke finds Oliver Medway lying dead on the floor of his studio, and realizes that there's a lot she doesn't know about the residents of Steeple Haslop. She needs to know more, for instance, about Tim Baxter who arrived at the scene of the cri...

  • There's been a killing in the Cotswolds... and for Kate Maddox, newly appointed (and first woman) Detective Chief Inspector, the meticulously executed hit-and-run on the quiet backroads of Chipping Bassett in turning out to be a killer of a first cha...

  • When Detective Chief Inspector Kate Maddox hears of Sir Noah Kimberley's disappearance, she isn't overly concerned. After all, wealthy, older men who head their own companies have been known to walk away from their wives and businesses without a good...

  • When beautiful model Corinne Saxon is found murdered Detective Chief Inspector Kate Maddox has to begin to unravel the complex life of the model to try and establish which of the men in her life may have committed the dreadful deed. The list of suspe...

  • When Detective Chief Inspector Kate Maddox and her lover, Richard Gower, travel to Lisbon for a romantic holiday, they are irritated by the arrival in their hotel of Major and Mrs. Bletchey, acquaintances of Richard’s from back home and when the Ma...

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Erica Quest has published 7 books.

Erica Quest does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Deadly Deceit, was published in June 1992.

The first book by Erica Quest, The Silver Castle, was published in July 1978.

Yes. Erica Quest has 1 series.