Author Information
Cliff McNish's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    12 Books (2 Series)
  • First Book:
    July 2001
  • Latest Book:
    November 2015
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:

Full Series List in Order

The Doomspell Trilogy

1 - The Doomspell (Jul-2001)
2 - The Scent Of Magic (Aug-2010)
3 - The Wizard's Promise (Aug-2010)

Silver Sequence

1 - The Silver Child (Feb-2005)
2 - Silver City (Sep-2007)
3 - Silver World (Mar-2007)

Book List in Order: 12 titles

  • In a blaze of light, rush of wind, and scrabble of claws, Rachel and her younger brother are ripped through the wall and hurtled on to another world. Like thousands of children before them, they have been snatched away by the Witch. But this time the...

  • Six children leave the comfort of their homes. They are drawn to Coldharbour - an eerie wasteland of wind, rats, seagulls and rubbish tips. Emily and Freda, the twins, scuttle bright eyed and insect-like in search of the others. They find Thomas on a...

  • In Book Three of the Silver Sequence, the Roar descends upon Coldharbour, where millions of children huddle in search of protection. Milo, the silver child, is the first line of Earth''s defense. Under his wings, Helen probes the Roar''s mind with...

  • Milo, transformed into a luminous silver child, keeps watch over the teeming city of Coldharbour, now filled with children from all over the world.We meet Tanni and Parminder, who lead the frightening Unearthers, children who are virtually human dril...

  • It's been many years since fourteen-year-old Freya's life was ruled by an obsession with angels - an obsession which destroyed her family. She has a burgeoning social life at school, and feels adjusted in the world. But then the angels return, and Fr...

  • Jack is not a normal boy. He can talk to ghosts. In his new home, an aging farmhouse, he meets the Ghost Mother, a grief-stricken spirit who becomes very attached to him…too attached. He learns that the Ghost Mother is preying in the cruelest imagi...

  • All over the world children are discovering they have magical powers - as Rachel did when she was abducted by the Witch Dragwena in THE DOOMSPELL. But the reason is that the evil Witches of the planet Ool are determined to avenge Dragwena's death by ...

  • Children the world over are flexing their powers, but it is only Rachel and Eric who finally have the skill to confront the Griddas, the terrible creatures unleashed by the High Witch. Cliff McNish writes with verve and sparkling imagination as he ex...

  • When Elliott and his brother move into the old and crumbling Glebe House they don't expect to find themselves sharing it with ghosts. But soon sinister events are unfolding. An old diary reveals glimpses of the mansion's past - and of a terrible trag...

  • Savannah Grey needs to keep moving. She doesn't know why, but she can't let herself get tied down by too many people. It's almost like she's being chased by something. And now something strange is happening with her neck with her throat. Savannah...

  • When her gran dies, Jess inherits Twigs - a talking cockatoo! Huge and hilarious, Twigs is Jess's best friend and, now she's starting at a new school, Jess needs a friend more than ever. But - Squawwwwk! - Twigs is noisy, and he's pushing Jess's dad ...

  • For fans of THE INCREDIBLE JOURNEY, A DOG'S LIFE, and THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN, this is the heartwrenching--but ultimately happy--story of four shelter dogs called the "No-Hopers" because their problems have kept them from the one thing they all...

Award-Winning Books by Cliff McNish

Breathe: A Ghost Story
2011 Virginia Readers Choice Award -- Middle School

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Cliff McNish has published 12 books.

Cliff McNish does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Going Home, was published in November 2015.

The first book by Cliff McNish, The Doomspell, was published in July 2001.

Yes. Cliff McNish has 2 series.