Barbara Nadel



This page contains affiliate links and advertising. See the full disclosure

Book List
List Format:

 32 titles

  • Buy

    Thriller

    Sep-2018

    Irving Levy is a man with few roots and, now that he is terminally ill, is anxious to find anyone to whom he can leave his considerable property. When he learns that there may be more to the disappearance of his younger sister, who disappeared when s...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Sep-2018

    Inspector Ikmen - 20

    'Inspector Ikmen thrillers combine brightly coloured scene setting with deliciously tortuous plots' GuardianINCORRUPTIBLE is the gripping new Istanbul crime thriller starring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from award-winn...

  • Buy

    General Fiction

    Jun-2017

    Hakim and Arnold - 5

    Out of the blue, private investigator and ex-soldier Lee Arnold receives a visit from an old army mate. Abbas al’Barri worked as a translator with him during the Second Iraq War. Now living in Ilford with his family, Abbas is convinced that he’s ...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    May-2017

    Inspector Ikmen - 19

    THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil's House....

  • Buy

    Suspense

    Sep-2016

    Hakim and Arnold - 4

    Private investigator and ex-soldier Lee Arnold and superintendent Paul Venus are by no means friends, but when Venus' son Harry is kidnapped and ransom demands arrive from an address in Arnold's patch in east London, the superintendent doesn't know w...

  • Buy

    Mystery

    Jun-2016

    Hakim and Arnold - 3

    Ex-soldier Lee Arnold and his Muslim assistant Mumtaz Hakim run a detective agency in London's ethnically diverse, crime-ridden East End. Mumtaz is approached by an Egyptian woman, Salwa, whose husband is in Belmarsh prison on terrorism charges. Salw...

  • Buy

    Mystery

    Mar-2016

    Inspector Ikmen - 18

    The brand-new Istanbul crime thriller staring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. ON THE BONE is perfect for fans of Donna Leon.In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and moder...

  • Buy

    Thriller

    Mar-2015

    Inspector Ikmen - 17

    A body is found in the ruined Constantinople hippodrome: a woman, clutching a piece of red stone. She's recently given birth, but there's no sign of the baby. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers she was a Byzantine specialist on a crusade to protect the ...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Apr-2014

    Inspector Ikmen - 16

    Any bloody death will lead Inspectors Ikmen and Suleyman out onto the dark streets of Istanbul. On January 21, a half-decapitated corpse in the poor multicultural district of Tarlabasi poses a particularly frustrating and gruesome mystery. But as th...

  • Buy

    Suspense

    Oct-2013

    Hakim and Arnold - 2

    It is 2012: London is hosting the Olympics and the East End Borough of Newham is at the centre of the world. But surrounding the glamorous stadia are some of the most ethnically diverse and crime-ridden streets in the capital. This is the world of Ar...

  • Buy

    Suspense

    Jul-2013

    Hakim and Arnold - 1

    Lee Arnold and Mumtaz Hakim run a detective agency in London's East End. But their latest case could have devastating consequences. A new client, Nasreen, has sought Hakim's help. Recently moved to a new house, and with a baby on the way, this shoul...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Apr-2013

    Inspector Ikmen - 15

    A murder game becomes deadly reality... Barbara Nadel invites readers to a seemingly innocent murder mystery evening in her fifteenth novel in the Inspector Ikmen series. Deadline is the perfect read for fans of Anne Zouroudi and Elly Griffith...

  • Buy

    Suspense

    Jan-2013

    Poor Old Frankie, Oggy and On the District are three short stories, written by Barbara Nadel, under the collective title Back to the Future. In one way or another, all the stories feature people who cannot or do not want to escape from their pasts. I...

  • Buy

    Suspense

    May-2012

    A Chemical Prison is the triumphantly accomplished second thriller by award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Jason Goodwin. 'Even better than Nadel's extraordinary first book... tightly organised... the dark, Byzantine...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    May-2012

    Inspector Ikmen - 14

    Inner city murder crosses two continents.Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman from Istanbul are sent to a policing conference in Detroit, but little can prepare them for the corruption that lies at its heart. When Ezekial Goins, an elderly man ...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Aug-2011

    Inspector Ikmen - 13

    Turkey: the police are called to the scene of what seems to be the honour killing of a young girl. Burnt alive, she is not the first girl to suffer such an horrific death in Istanbul. Further investigations by Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleym...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Jan-2010

    Inspector Ikmen - 12

    In the 12th volume of the acclaimed Inspector Ikmen mysteries, the chain-smoking, hard-drinking Istanbul detective ventures on to the mean streets of low-life London to solve a vicious conspiracy When the Istanbul police raid a counterfeit goods...

  • Buy

    Historical Mystery

    Jan-2010

    A Francis Hancock Mystery - 4

    The chilling World War Two crime mystery by the award-winning author Barbara Nadel; fourth in the highly popular Francis Hancock series. East London, 1940: Francis Hancock finds the brutally eviscerated body of a woman in a derelict house. Francis' s...

  • Buy

    Historical Mystery

    Jan-2009

    A Francis Hancock Mystery - 3

    As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plotIt's December 29, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming in...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Jan-2009

    Inspector Ikmen - 11

    Convicted murderer and drug baron Yusuf Kaya has escaped from Istanbul prison. He appears to have had inside help...Inspector Cetin Ikmen is called to investigate Kaya's contacts in the city, while Inspector Suleyman heads to Kaya's hometown of Mardi...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Jul-2008

    Inspector Ikmen - 10

    When Emine Aksu, the flamboyant wife of an Istanbul style guru, suddenly goes missing, Inspector Cetin Ikmen's investigation leads him deep into her strange and colorful pastEmine was a hippie when she was younger, who wholeheartedly enjoyed the libe...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2007

    Inspector Ikmen - 9

    A serial killer is stalking the streets of Istanbul, seemingly targeting gay men. A man is found dead in a hotel room, a single stab wound in his heart. Could he be a victim of the 'Peeper'? Inspector Mehmet Suleyman is assigned to the case, and i...

  • Buy

    Historical Mystery

    Jul-2006

    A Francis Hancock Mystery - 2

    In the dark days of the Blitz, crime goes undercover...Undertaker Francis Hancock has seen the worst that humanity can do to itself. Why then does the murder of a young gypsy girl in Epping Forest move him so much? Travellers, gypsies, the homeless, ...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2006

    Inspector Ikmen - 8

    A body is discovered in a cave in the remote region of Cappadocia, Turkey. The woman died of gunshot wounds, and her corpse has lain undisturbed for twenty years. Who is she and who killed her? Inspector Ikmen is summoned from Istanbul to investigate...

  • Buy

    Historical Mystery

    Jun-2005

    A Francis Hancock Mystery - 1

    Francis H is an undertaker in the London Borough of West Ham in the 1940s. The Second World War is in full swing and the Borough is being pounded on a nightly basis by the German Luftwaffe. Francis H is a World War 1 veteran so he also has to deal wi...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2005

    Inspector Ikmen - 7

    A naked teenage girl is found dead near the beautiful Byzantine Yoros Castle in Turkey. She has stabbed herself through the heart but there is evidence of bizarre sexual practice. In another part of Istanbul, a young boy sems to have committed suicid...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2004

    Inspector Ikmen - 6

    Summer in Istanbul is hot. The kind of heat that can drive even the sanest people a little crazy...An elderly woman is found dead in a flat with the perfectly preserved body of a young man. In an ancient part of the Jewish quarter, two children are m...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2003

    Inspector Ikmen - 5

    The body of a teenage girl is discovered in a cistern deep below the city of Istanbul. For the Turkish police force's most talented officer, Inspector Çetin Ikmen, this is a difficult case. The girl was his daughter's friend and her attire, that of ...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2002

    Inspector Ikmen - 4

    A man's body, virtually decapitated, is found by the Bosphorus. His identity card names him as Rifat Berisha, an Albanian. The family is impenetrable but when Inspector Cetin Ikmen, whose mother was Albanian, consults his cousin, Samsun, he's left in...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2001

    Inspector Ikmen - 3

    Confined to his home on sick-leave (and prevented from sneaking his beloved brandy and cigars), Inspector Ikmen of the Istanbul police is forced to hand his latest case over to his protege, the newly promoted Suleyman. That's too bad, because the ari...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    Feb-2000

    Inspector Ikmen - 1

    Tourist brochures present Istanbul as a glamorous, modern city, but the brochures don't make much mention of Balat, a decrepit neighborhood of narrow, twisting alleys and crumbling tenements. Until recently it was home to Leonid Meyer, a reclusive el...

  • Buy

    Police/Detective/Law Enforcement

    2000

    Inspector Ikmen - 2

    When a brutal murder shocks Istanbul's rundown Jewish quarter, the Turkish police force unleashes their best weapon - the chain-smoking, brandy-swilling Inspector Cetin Ikmen, husband to a strict Muslim woman (who disapproves of his drinking) and lov...

get social with us

Share This Page