Book List:33 titles
  • The twenty-first chilling Istanbul crime thriller starring Çetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Silver Dagger Award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Not to be missed by fans of Donna Leon. A derelict villa near Istanbul holds da...



    • Sep-2018
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    'Inspector Ikmen thrillers combine brightly coloured scene setting with deliciously tortuous plots' GuardianINCORRUPTIBLE is the gripping new Istanbul crime thriller starring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from award-winn...



    • May-2017
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    THE HOUSE OF FOUR is the brand new Istanbul crime thriller featuring Inspector Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph) from Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon.Everyone in the Istanbul neighbourhood of Moda knows the Devil's House....


  • Private investigator and ex-soldier Lee Arnold and superintendent Paul Venus are by no means friends, but when Venus' son Harry is kidnapped and ransom demands arrive from an address in Arnold's patch in east London, the superintendent doesn't know w...


  • Ex-soldier Lee Arnold and his Muslim assistant Mumtaz Hakim run a detective agency in London's ethnically diverse, crime-ridden East End. Mumtaz is approached by an Egyptian woman, Salwa, whose husband is in Belmarsh prison on terrorism charges. Salw...


  • The brand-new Istanbul crime thriller staring Inspector Cetin Ikmen, 'the Morse of Istanbul' (Daily Telegraph), from Barbara Nadel. ON THE BONE is perfect for fans of Donna Leon.In Istanbul - the golden city on the Bosphorus - ancient myths and moder...


  • A body is found in the ruined Constantinople hippodrome: a woman, clutching a piece of red stone. She's recently given birth, but there's no sign of the baby. Inspector Cetin Ikmen discovers she was a Byzantine specialist on a crusade to protect the ...






    • Apr-2014
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Any bloody death will lead Inspectors Ikmen and Suleyman out onto the dark streets of Istanbul. On January 21, a half-decapitated corpse in the poor multicultural district of Tarlabasi poses a particularly frustrating and gruesome mystery. But as th...


  • Lee Arnold and Mumtaz Hakim run a detective agency in London's East End. But their latest case could have devastating consequences. A new client, Nasreen, has sought Hakim's help. Recently moved to a new house, and with a baby on the way, this shou...


  • Lee Arnold and Mumtaz Hakim run a detective agency in London's East End. But their latest case could have devastating consequences. A new client, Nasreen, has sought Hakim's help. Recently moved to a new house, and with a baby on the way, this shou...


    • Apr-2013
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    A murder game becomes deadly reality... Barbara Nadel invites readers to a seemingly innocent murder mystery evening in her fifteenth novel in the Inspector Ikmen series. Deadline is the perfect read for fans of Anne Zouroudi and Elly Griffith...


  • Poor Old Frankie, Oggy and On the District are three short stories, written by Barbara Nadel, under the collective title Back to the Future. In one way or another, all the stories feature people who cannot or do not want to escape from their pasts. I...


  • A Chemical Prison is the triumphantly accomplished second thriller by award-winning author Barbara Nadel. Perfect for fans of Donna Leon and Jason Goodwin. 'Even better than Nadel's extraordinary first book... tightly organised... the dark, Byzantine...


    • May-2012
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Inner city murder crosses two continents.Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleyman from Istanbul are sent to a policing conference in Detroit, but little can prepare them for the corruption that lies at its heart. When Ezekial Goins, an elderly man ...


    • Aug-2011
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Turkey: the police are called to the scene of what seems to be the honour killing of a young girl. Burnt alive, she is not the first girl to suffer such an horrific death in Istanbul. Further investigations by Inspectors Cetin Ikmen and Mehmet Suleym...


    • Jan-2010
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    In the 12th volume of the acclaimed Inspector Ikmen mysteries, the chain-smoking, hard-drinking Istanbul detective ventures on to the mean streets of low-life London to solve a vicious conspiracy When the Istanbul police raid a counterfeit goods...


  • The chilling new World War Two crime mystery by the award-winning author Barbara Nadel; fourth in the highly popular Francis Hancock series. East London, 1940: Francis Hancock finds the brutally eviscerated body of a woman in a derelict house. Franci...


  • As the German Luftwaffe bomb the capital, undertaker Francis Hancock suddenly finds himself caught up in the middle of a terrifying abduction plotIt's December 29, 1940, the night that Hitler has chosen to destroy London under a barrage of flaming in...


    • Jan-2009
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Convicted murderer and drug baron Yusuf Kaya has escaped from Istanbul prison. He appears to have had inside help...Inspector Cetin Ikmen is called to investigate Kaya's contacts in the city, while Inspector Suleyman heads to Kaya's hometown of Mardi...


    • Jul-2008
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    When Emine Aksu, the flamboyant wife of an Istanbul style guru, suddenly goes missing, Inspector Cetin Ikmen's investigation leads him deep into her strange and colorful pastEmine was a hippie when she was younger, who wholeheartedly enjoyed the libe...


    • 2007
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    A serial killer is stalking the streets of Istanbul, seemingly targeting gay men. A man is found dead in a hotel room, a single stab wound in his heart. Could he be a victim of the 'Peeper'? Inspector Mehmet Suleyman is assigned to the case, and i...


  • In the dark days of the Blitz, crime goes undercover...Undertaker Francis Hancock has seen the worst that humanity can do to itself. Why then does the murder of a young gypsy girl in Epping Forest move him so much? Travellers, gypsies, the homeless, ...


    • 2006
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    A body is discovered in a cave in the remote region of Cappadocia, Turkey. The woman died of gunshot wounds, and her corpse has lain undisturbed for twenty years. Who is she and who killed her? Inspector Ikmen is summoned from Istanbul to investigate...


  • Francis H is an undertaker in the London Borough of West Ham in the 1940s. The Second World War is in full swing and the Borough is being pounded on a nightly basis by the German Luftwaffe. Francis H is a World War 1 veteran so he also has to deal wi...


    • 2005
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    A naked teenage girl is found dead near the beautiful Byzantine Yoros Castle in Turkey. She has stabbed herself through the heart but there is evidence of bizarre sexual practice. In another part of Istanbul, a young boy sems to have committed suicid...


    • 2004
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Summer in Istanbul is hot. The kind of heat that can drive even the sanest people a little crazy...An elderly woman is found dead in a flat with the perfectly preserved body of a young man. In an ancient part of the Jewish quarter, two children are m...


    • 2003
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    The body of a teenage girl is discovered in a cistern deep below the city of Istanbul. For the Turkish police force's most talented officer, Inspector Çetin Ikmen, this is a difficult case. The girl was his daughter's friend and her attire, that of ...






    • 2002
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    A man's body, virtually decapitated, is found by the Bosphorus. His identity card names him as Rifat Berisha, an Albanian. The family is impenetrable but when Inspector Cetin Ikmen, whose mother was Albanian, consults his cousin, Samsun, he's left in...


    • 2001
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Confined to his home on sick-leave (and prevented from sneaking his beloved brandy and cigars), Inspector Ikmen of the Istanbul police is forced to hand his latest case over to his protege, the newly promoted Suleyman. That's too bad, because the ari...


    • Feb-2000
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    Tourist brochures present Istanbul as a glamorous, modern city, but the brochures don't make much mention of Balat, a decrepit neighborhood of narrow, twisting alleys and crumbling tenements. Until recently it was home to Leonid Meyer, a reclusive el...


    • 2000
    • / Police/Detective/Law Enforcement
    • Buy Buy

    When a brutal murder shocks Istanbul's rundown Jewish quarter, the Turkish police force unleashes their best weapon - the chain-smoking, brandy-swilling Inspector Cetin Ikmen, husband to a strict Muslim woman (who disapproves of his drinking) and lov...