Author Information
Anne Herries's Latest Book

Newest Release

  • Bibliography:
    82 Books (11 Series)
  • First Book:
    November 1981
  • Latest Book:
    July 2016
  • Author Rating:
  • Share:
About the Author

Linda Sole was born in Swindon, Wiltshire, England, UK, the daughter of a schoolteacher and a ladies hairdresser who, after leaving high school at 15, worked in her father’s shop until she married. She ran her own hairdressing salon for a while, then gave it up to write and help her husband run his antique business.

Her first success came in 1979 when, writing as Lynn Granville, she was accepted by Robert Hale. Success with Mills & Boon came soon after and Devil's Kin was published in 1981 as Anne Herries. She wrote 12 books for Mills & Boon before trying her hand at mainstream fiction. She has now written several books under her own name of Linda Sole and other pseudonyms. However, Mills & Boon remains one of her favorite publishers because of the friendly family atmosphere. She decided to write for them again while continuing her other work — it's a busy life, but fulfilling! Writing has always been a pleasure and is a dream come true for her.

Living in Cambridgeshire, she is happily married and enjoys many other things in the company of her husband. Her main interests apart from writing are watching good films and reading other authors; also walking in the sun and swimming — mostly in Spain because it's warmer. Her main love, apart from her husband and writing, is for animals and birds. She loves feeding the squirrels that come regularly to her garden, as well as many varieties of birds — and even foxes during the recent bad weather. She says happiness comes from enjoying the good things around us.

Full Series List in Order

Banewulf Dynasty

1 - A Perfect Knight (Jan-2006)
2 - A Knight of Honor (Mar-2006)
3 - Her Knight Protector (May-2006)

English Civil War

1 - Lovers And Enemies (Jan-2006)
2 - Love Lies Weeping (Jun-2006)
3 - The Seeds of Sin (Sep-2006)

The Hellfire Mysteries

1 - An Improper Companion (Jan-2008)
2 - A Wealthy Widow (May-2008)
3 - A Worthy Gentleman (Sep-2008)

The Horne Sisters

1 - Marianne And The Marquis (Apr-2009)
2 - Married by Christmas (Jun-2009)
3 - Marrying Captain Jack (Aug-2009)

The Melford Dynasty

1 - Forbidden Lady (Apr-2007)
2 - The Lord's Forced Bride (Mar-2008)
3 - Her Dark and Dangerous Lord (Dec-2008)

Officers and Gentlemen

1 - Courted by the Captain (Dec-2013)
2 - Protected by the Major (Jan-2014)
3 - Drawn to Lord Ravenscar (Feb-2014)

Regency Brides of Convenience

1 - Rescued by the Viscount (Nov-2014)
2 - Chosen by the Lieutenant (Jan-2015)
3 - Reunited with the Major (Mar-2015)

A Season In Town

1 - A Country Miss in Hanover Square (Jul-2011)
2 - An Innocent Debutante in Hanover Square (Aug-2011)
3 - The Mistress of Hanover Square (Sep-2011)

Secrets and Scandals

1 - The Disappearing Duchess (Feb-2012)
2 - The Mysterious Lord Marlowe (Mar-2012)
3 - Scandalous Lord Lanchester (Apr-2012)

An Upstairs Downstairs Saga

1 - Love Is Not Enough (Jan-2008)
2 - Love and War (Sep-2008)
3 - Forbidden Love (Mar-2009)

Wishing Well

1 - The Elusive Earl (Oct-2012)
2 - The Wicked and Wonderful Miss Merlin (Nov-2012)

Multi-Author Series List

The Elizabethan Season

2 - Lady in Waiting (Dec-2006)
3 - The Adventurer's Wife (Mar-2007)

The Steepwood Scandal

1 - Lord Ravensden's Marriage (Jun-2002)
9 - Counterfeit Earl (Feb-2003)

Book List in Order: 82 titles

Award-Winning Books by Anne Herries

A Damnable Rogue
2004 RoNA -- Rose

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ)

Anne Herries has published 82 books.

Anne Herries does not have a new book coming out soon. The latest book, Claiming the Chaperon's Heart, was published in July 2016.

The first book by Anne Herries, Devil's Kin, was published in November 1981.

Yes. Anne Herries has 11 series.