Alexandra Ripley was an American writer best known as the author of Scarlett (1991), written as a sequel to Gone with the Wind.

She died of natural causes at her home in Richmond, Virginia at the age of 70.
(January 8, 1934 – January 13, 2004)

Book List in Order:9 titles

  • in The Sunken Sailor

    Fourteen masters of the mystery and suspense genre--including Jan Burke, Carolyn Hart, Simon Brett, and Edward Marston--each contribute an individual chapter to a round robin mystery about a weekend house party in a small English village that is turn...


  • Joseph of Arimathea is the man who gave his own tomb to the crucified Jesus of Nazareth. He is a mysterious figure about whom little is known. In the tradition of "The Robe" and "Ben Hur", Alexandra Ripley, the author who brought Margaret Mitchell's ...


    • / Historical Romance
    • Buy Buy

    The war has swept away all her wealth. Now poor, nearly thirty, and without a husband, Francesca "Chess" Standish has only her pride, a crumbling Tidewater mansion, and a patent on a machine that needs the right man to fulfill its promise. Barely twe...


  • Come back to Tara... to Scarlett and Rhett... and to the greatest love story in all fiction. This is the book whose initial publication was an instant sensation: selling out immediately, setting new records, and enthralling readers all over the world...


  • NEW ORLEANS HELD THE KEY TO UNLOCKING HER PAST--AND UNLEASHING HER PASSIONS... Nothing in sixteen-year-old Mary MacAllistair's years in a convent school had prepared her for the mysterious box left to her by the mother she had never known. The na...


  • A Love for All Time... From the majestic beauty of fifteenth-century Florence comes the grand and glorious story of Lorenzo and Ginevra. Bound by a love that transcends the bitter rivalry between their families, they share the magnificent passions of...


  • From the waning glory of the Old South... The plantation house, the lands, the golden traditions of Ashley Barony made it the pride of Charleston. But its fortunes fell violently, irrevocably, on Margaret Garden Tradd's scandalous wedding day. ...


  • SUDDENLY IT WAS GONE. GONE FOREVER. Once the ballrooms had glittered with the laughter of beautiful young women, the woods had echoed with the shouts of men on the foxhunt, the plantations had graced the lush countryside in silent majesty. Then ca...