• Published:
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook
  • Rating:
  • Pages:
  • Age Level:
    18 & up
  • Purchase:
The fairly young and entirely alive Mrs. Shamefoot wants nothing more than to have a memorial stained-glass window installed in her honor in an English cathedral. From this premise, the inimitable Ronald Firbank extends his witty, eccentric Vainglory, with a crowded cast of hilariously drawn characters -- Winsome Brooks, Lady Anne Pantry, Miss Wookie, Mrs. Barrow of Dawn, and Mrs. Steeple, among others -- a riot of parties, and a bottomless sense of the ridiculous. Firbank's fine comic skill, quick-fire dialogue, and descriptive flights of fancy are perfectly captured in Vainglory, his first and longest novel, as well as in two novellas included here, Inclinations and Caprice.

Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • First Edition
    • Aug-2012
    • Penguin
    • Trade Paperback
    • ISBN: 0141196335
    • ISBN13: 9780141196336
    • May-2013
    • Michael Walmer
    • Trade Paperback
    • ISBN: 0987367889
    • ISBN13: 9780987367884
    • Jun-2012
    • Penguin
    • eBook
    • ISBN: 014196717X
    • ISBN13: 9780141967172


View the Complete Ronald Firbank Book List