The Worlds of Jack Williamson
  • Published:
    Apr-2008 (Hardcover)
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook
  • Rating:
  • Pages:
  • Purchase:

The Worlds of Jack Williamson celebrates the 100th birthday of one of the Grand Masters of science fiction. While Jack Williamson passed away in 2006 at the age of 98, his incredible body of work continues to be enjoyed by legions of fans and admirers. Assembled in this centennial tribute are several unpublished stories: The Moon Bird, The Forbidden Window, The Golden Glass, and a film treatment from 1957, The Planets are Calling. Also included are several classics in the Williamson canon such as the original novella-length version of Darker Thank You Think; Minus Sign, an unreprinted seetee story of anti-matter and terraforming; and a tale with the first use of psionics, The Man from Outside. Contemporary stories include The Hole in the World, Afterlife, and The Luck of the Legion, the last Legion of Space adventure. Included are four essays from academics and scholars who have studied Williamson s works, as well as Dr. Williamson s 1957 Master s Thesis, A Study of the Sense of Prophecy in Modern Science Fiction. Fellow Grand Masters of science fiction Frederik Pohl and James Gunn provide introductory remarks on reading, knowing, collaborating with, and admiring Jack Williamson. Contents Academic Essays Alan C. Elms, PhD Darker Than He Thought: The Psychoanalysis of Jack Williamson Jack Williamson A Study of the Sense of Prophecy in Modern Science Fiction Tricentennial Century Alfred D. Stewart, PhD Jack Williamson: The Comedy of Cosmic Evolution Vicky Medley Queens of Space: Women in the work of Jack Williamson Richard A. Hauptmann Collecting Jack Williamson: Master of Wonder Fiction Classic Stories Darker Than You Think (1940) Minus Sign (1942) The Man from Outside (1951) Contemporary Stories The Humanoid Universe (1980) The Hole in the World (1997) Afterlife (2002) The Luck of the Legion (2002) New Unpublished Stories The Moon Bird (1929) The Forbidden Window (19??) The Golden Glass (1939) The Planets are Calling (1957) A Chrismas Carol (2000)
Sign In to Review This Book


Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.


   View the Complete Jack Williamson Book List