The Man Who Went Down With His Ship
  • Published:
  • Formats:
    Print / eBook
  • Main Genre:
    General Fiction
  • Pages:
  • Purchase:

The Man Who Went Down with His Ship" (1988) finds Hugh Fleetwood moving from Manhattan and Paris to winter-bound London, from Tuscany and Sardinia to Mexico and Egypt. Yet wherever his characters roam, their fate awaits them like the proverbial appointment in Samarra. In the title story, poet Alfred Albers attempts to confront with honesty an event from his past that has always haunted him, only to learn anew that no good deed goes unpunished. In 'The Nature of Angels' Maria longs for deliverance from a life made moribund, but is finally forced to ponder exactly what kind of power would answer our prayers

This edition includes two later Fleetwood stories: 'L & I' and 'Why Are You Wearing My Daughter's Earrings?'

' Fleetwood] reaches down and stirs with venomous delight the nameless, faceless things swimming far below the level of consciousness.' Scotsman

Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • First Edition
    • Nov-2013
    • Faber and Faber (UK)
    • Trade Paperback
    • ISBN: 0571304834
    • ISBN13: 9780571304837
    • Oct-1988
    • Trafalgar Square Publishing
    • Hardcover
    • ISBN: 0241124557
    • ISBN13: 9780241124550
    • Nov-2013
    • Faber and Faber (UK)
    • eBook
    • ISBN: 0571304842
    • ISBN13: 9780571304844
    • Nov-2013
    • Faber Finds
    • eBook (Kindle)

View the Complete Hugh Fleetwood Book List