The Lydia Steptoe Stories
  • Published:
  • Formats:
  • Rating:
  • Purchase:

Faber Stories, a landmark series of individual volumes, presents masters of the short story form at work in a range of genres and styles. 'I have quite changed my mind. I am going to run away and become a boy.'In these three stories, written by Djuna Barnes under the pseudonym Lydia Steptoe, three characters find themselves on the brink of a sexual awakening - accompanied by guns, whips, and worldly innuendo.A fourteen-year-old girl plans to become 'a virago', until her mother intercepts her first tryst by dressing up as her male lover. A boy of the same age is lured into the forest by his father's mistress. A woman of forty falls in love and longs to kill herself, so unbearable is the return of the youth she thought she wanted. 'Alice', she tells herself, 'be a man.'Barnes makes gender and desire seem slippery and joyful - and makes the fictional Lydia Steptoe seem like a writer for our time.

Click on any of the links above to see more books like this one.

Sign in to see more editions
    • First Edition
    • Jan-2019
    • Faber and Faber (UK)
    • eBook
    • ISBN: 057135467X
    • ISBN13: 9780571354672
    • Jan-2019
    • Faber & Faber
    • eBook (Kindle)


View the Complete Djuna Barnes Book List